EENI Global Business School
Maghrebian Economic Area

Syllabus of the Subject: Maghrebian Economic Area (Master, Doctorate).

  1. Introduction to the Maghrebian Economic Area as a part of the Islamic Civilisation and the African Civilisation
  2. Islam in the Maghrebian Economic Area
  3. Economic Profile of the Maghrebian Countries: Morocco, Mauritania, Algeria, Tunisia and Libya
  4. Businesspeople of the Maghrebian Economic Area
  5. Logistics in the Maghreb
  6. Interactions of the Maghrebian Economic Area with the rest of the African Economic Areas (West Africa, Central Africa, Southern Africa, East Africa)
  7. Interactions of the Maghrebian Economic Area with the other economic areas
  8. Economic institutions related to the Maghrebian Economic Area

The objectives of the subject “Maghrebian Economic Area” are the following:

  1. To understand the influence of Islam on the Maghrebian Economic Area
  2. To define the economic characteristics of the Maghrebian Economic Area
  3. To know the economic profile of the Maghrebian Countries
  4. To understand the economic integration process in the Maghrebian Economic Area
  5. To analyse the main businesspeople in the Maghreb
  6. To explore the economic relationships with the others economic areas of different civilisations
  7. To analyse the main economic organisations related to the Maghrebian Economic Area

Arab Maghreb Union (AMU) Morocco, Mauritania, Algeria, Tunisia and Libya

The Subject “Maghrebian Economic Area” belongs to the following Online Higher Educational Programs taught by EENI Global Business School:
  1. Courses: Islam & Business, Business in the Maghreb
  2. Doctorates: Ethics, Religions & Business, Islamic Business, African Business, World Trade
  3. Masters: International Business, Foreign Trade, Muslim Countries, Economic Relations, Religions & Business

Online Student Master in International Business

Masters and Doctorates in Global Business adapted to the Libyan Students

Why study “Islam, Ethics and Business”?

Learning materials in Courses, Masters, Doctorates in International Business in English or Study, Master in International Business in French Espace économique maghrébin Study Master Doctorate Business in Spanish Espacio Económico Magrebí Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese Espaço Económico Magrebino

Download the Syllabus of the Subject “Maghrebian Economic Area” (PDF)

  1. Credits of the Subject “Maghrebian Economic Area”: 1 ECTS Credits
  2. Duration: one week

Othman Benjellou (Muslim Moroccan Businessman, the richest men in Morocco) Al Wataniya (Insurance Company)

Tweter Tweet
Tell a Friend:

/ Contact / Whatsapp / Contact by Skype / Contact by Phone / / Print this page /

Return to the previous page Back

Description: Maghrebian Economic Area

International Trade and Business in the Maghreb (Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, and Mauritania)

The Maghrebian Economic Area consists of the five countries of the Arab Maghreb Union (AMU):

  1. Morocco
  2. Mauritania
  3. Algeria
  4. Tunisia
  5. Libya
  6. Furthermore, of the Western Sahara

Sunni Islam (Maliki) is the main religion of the Maghrebian Economic Area.

Culturally we could consider to North Africa as a part of the Islamic Civilisation (Sunnite), but from economic integration also part of the African Civilisation.

  1. Arabic and French are the most spoken languages in the Maghreb.
  2. Tamazight is the language of the Berbers
  3. 87 million people live in the Maghreb.
  4. The most populous country is Algeria (40 million people), followed by Morocco (33)
  5. The largest economy (GDP) is Algeria, followed by Morocco and Tunisia
  6. All the Maghrebian Countries were former colonies of the European powers (France, Spain, and Italy)
  7. Significant effects of the Arab Spring
  8. Absolute instability in Libya
  9. Influence of the Sahara is crucial on the Maghreb
  10. Importance of the Maghrebian Diaspora in France and Spain
  11. Hichem Djaït is an outstanding Tunisian Muslim historian

Top ten Maghrebians cities (million people).

  1. Casablanca (3,3)
  2. Algiers (2,3)
  3. Fez (1.1)
  4. Nouakchott (0.9)
  5. Tangier (0.9)
  6. Tripoli (0.9)
  7. Marrakesh (0.9)
  8. Sale (0.8)
  9. Oran (0.8)
  10. Tunis (0.6)

The largest Maghrebian ports are the Port of Casablanca, Port of Algiers, and Port of La Goulette.

Trans-Saharan corridors crossing through the Maghreb: Tripoli-Windhoek, Dakar-Lagos, Algiers-Lagos, and Cairo-Dakar Corridor (Mauritania).

Businesspeople in the Maghrebian Economic Area: Othman Benjelloun, Anas Sefrioui, Mohamed Hassan Bensalah, Ali Haddad, Issad Rebrab, Aziz Akhannouch, Miloud Chaabi, Mohamed Ali Harrath

The main Maghrebian economic integration process is the Arab Maghreb Union (AMU).

  1. Mauritania and Tunisia has a trade agreement

Main integration agreements with the others economic areas.

  1. Community of Sahel-Saharan States (CEN-SAD) (Morocco, Mauritania, and Tunisia)
  2. Morocco and Tunisia belong to the Arab Mediterranean Free Trade Agreement (Agadir)
  3. Trade Preferential System (OIC-TPS)
  4. Greater Arab Free-Trade Area (GAFTA)
  5. United States-Morocco Agreement
  6. Morocco and Tunisia have Free Trade Agreements with Turkey
  7. Jordan has free trade agreements (FTA) with Algeria, Libya, and Tunisia
  8. Iran has a free trade agreement (FTA) with Algeria
  9. Mauritania has an agreement with the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)
  10. Libya is a member of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Agreement, and COMESA-United States agreement
  11. European Union-Maghreb
    1. Euro-Mediterranean Partnership (EUROMED) (Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia, and Mauritania)
    2. European Neighbourhood Policy (Algeria, Libya, Morocco, and Tunisia)
    3. Economic Partnership Agreements with Algeria, Morocco, and Tunisia
    4. Mauritania is a beneficiary of the Africa-European Union Strategic Partnership
  12. The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) has a trade agreement with Tunisia and Morocco

Economic Organisations related to the Maghrebian Economic Area.

  1. Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)
    1. Standing Committee for Economic and Commercial Cooperation
    2. Islamic Centre for Development of Trade (ICDT)
    3. Islamic Chamber of Commerce and Industry (ICCI)
    4. Statistical, Economic and Social Research and Training Centre
  2. Islamic Development Bank (IsDB)
  3. Arab League (LAS)
  4. Afro-Arab Cooperation
  5. Arab Development Funds
  6. Africa-Asia Strategic Partnership
  7. Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA) (Libya, Morocco, Mauritania, and Tunisia)
  8. All the Maghrebian Countries are part of the African Union (except Morocco), Economic Commission for Africa (CEA), African Development Bank, Summit of South American-Arab Countries (ASPA), and Asia-Middle East Dialogue (AMED)

EENI African Portal

We Trust in Africa (EENI African Portal)

Ports of Morocco, Casablanca, Agadir, Tangier, Mohammedia. Maritime Transport Course

Ali Haddad, Algerian Muslim Businessman, Algeria

Anas Sefrioui, Muslim Moroccan Businessman (Morocco)

Algiers-Lagos Corridor - Trans-Saharan Highway: Algeria, Niger, Nigeria, Mali, and Tunisia (Road Transport Course)

Casablanca Business

Tangier Free Zone

Hichem Djaït (Historian, Tunisia) Crisis of Islamic Culture

Mauritania Mining Sector

Algeria Logistics

(c) EENI Global Business School (1995-2021)
Due to the COVID Pandemic, EENI has implemented teleworking. Please only contact by email, WhatsApp or through the information request form
We do not use cookies
Back to top of this page