COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite (Master, Doctorate)

EENI Business School & HA University

Syllabus of the Online Subject: COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Free Trade Agreement (FTA).

  1. Introduction to the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Agreement
  2. Institutional framework of the Tripartite Agreement
  3. Areas of intervention of the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Agreement
  4. Tripartite Free Trade Agreement (FTA)
  5. Trade-Related mechanisms
  6. Trade and transport facilitation
  7. Infrastructure Development
  8. Corridors and infrastructure in the COMESA-SADC-EAC Tripartite Area
  9. North-South Corridor (NSC)
  10. Case Study: Mechanism for Reporting, Monitoring, and Eliminating Non-Tariff Barriers
  11. African continental free-trade area

The objectives of the Online Subject “COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Agreement” are the following:

  1. To understand the goals (single customs union) and areas of cooperation of the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Agreement
  2. To evaluate the benefits for tripartite members
  3. To understand the advantages of the tripartite free-trade area (FTA)
  4. To analyse trade facilitation programs, transport corridors, and non-tariff barriers removal of the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite
  5. To understand the tripartite agreement as a step towards African Continental free-trade area

The eLearning Subject “COMESA-EAC-SADC Free Trade Agreement (FTA)” is part of the following Online Higher Education Programs taught by EENI Business School & HA University:
  1. Courses: Central Africa, East Africa, Southern Africa, Regional Integration in Africa
  2. Doctorates: Business in Africa, Global Trade
  3. Masters: Sub-Saharan Africa (South Africa), Economic Relations, Global Business

Students, Online Master in International Business

Learning materials in Master in International Business in English or Study, Master in International Business in French Tripartite COMESA-EAC-SADC Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese Tripartido COMESA-EAC-SADC Study Master Doctorate Business in Spanish Tripartito COMESA-EAC-SADC

Credits of the Subject “COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite”: 0.1 ECTS Credits

Example of the Online Subject: COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite
COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Agreement (Master Africa)

Tweter Tweet
Tell a Friend:

/ Contact / Whatsapp / Contact by Skype / Contact by Phone / / Print this page /

Paterson Ngatchou: EENI Academic Coordinator for Anglophone Countries
Return to the previous page Back

African Portal - EENI Business School & HA University

Africa: Foreign Trade and Business (Master)

Description of the Online Subject: COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Free Trade Agreement (FTA).


- Twenty-six countries representing near 527 million people (57% of the African Union's population).

- GDP= 624 billion dollars (58% of the African Union's GDP).

The COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Free Trade Agreement consists of...

COMESA (Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa) members economies: Burundi, the Comoros, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, the Arab Republic of Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, the Seychelles, Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

EAC (East African Community) members: Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, and Burundi.

SADC (Southern African Development Community) members: Angola, Botswana, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, the Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Comparative table of the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Free Trade Agreement:
Members COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite

The main objective of the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite is the creation of a single economic space:

  1. Free-Trade Area
  2. Customs Union
  3. Monetary Union
  4. Common Market

Moreover, infrastructures improvement in the region.

The topics covered by the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite FTA are:

  1. Non-tariff, Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT)
  2. Rules of Origin
  3. Customs Cooperation
  4. Transit facilities
  5. Trade remedies
  6. Competition Policy
  7. Standards
  8. Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures
  9. Movement of Businessman
  10. Intellectual Property Rights (IPR)
  11. Dispute Settlement

The COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite FTA belongs to African Civilisation.

  1. Southern African Economic Area
  2. East African Economic Area
  3. Central African Economic Area

Main corridors in the Tripartite Region.

  1. Cairo-Gaborone Corridor
  2. Tripoli-Windhoek
  3. Beira-Lobito Corridor
  4. Lagos-Mombasa

Largest ports in the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite region:

  1. Port Said
  2. Suez Canal
  3. Port Sudan
  4. Port of Djibouti
  5. Port of Mombasa
  6. Port of Dar Es Salaam
  7. Port of Luanda
  8. Port of Maputo
  9. Port of Durban

North-South Corridor (Master Africa, Course)

Cairo-Gaborone Corridor (Trans-African Highway)

(c) EENI Business School & HA University (We do not use cookies)