EENI Global Business School
African Transport Corridors

Syllabus of the Subject: African Multimodal Transport Corridors. Trans-African Roads

  1. Introduction to the African Transport Corridors
  2. Almaty Programme of Action (United Nations)
  3. Trans-African Road Network/Trans-African Corridors
  4. Cairo-Dakar Corridor
  5. Algiers-Lagos Corridor (Trans-Saharan)
  6. Tripoli-Windhoek Corridor
  7. Cairo-Gaborone Corridor
  8. Trans-Sahelian Highway (Dakar-N’Djamena Corridor)
  9. N’Djamena-Djibouti Corridor
  10. Dakar-Lagos Corridor
  11. Lagos-Mombasa Corridor
  12. Beira-Lobito Corridor (Trans-African Highway 9)
  13. Northern Corridor
  14. Central Corridor
  15. North-South Corridor
  16. CEMAC Trade Corridor Project
  17. Eastern and Central Africa Corridors
  18. Lobito Corridor
  19. Corridors in the SADC region
  20. Logistics Corridors in Namibia
  21. West and Central Africa Trucking Competitiveness
  22. Asia-Africa Growth Corridor
  23. Benin-Niger-Burkina Faso-Ivory Coast Railway loop

The objectives of the subject “African Transport Corridors” are the following:

  1. To know the state of the African Road freight transport
  2. To analyse the four types of the African corridors (unimodal, multimodal, logistic and economic)
  3. To learn about the features of the main transport corridors in Africa
  4. To know how to access to the African landlocked countries through the transport corridors
  5. To identify the causes of the high costs of the Road Transport in Africa
  6. To understand the concept of a corridor as an engine of the African socio-economic development

Sample - Trans-African Road Network:
African Transport Corridors. Trans-African Road Network: Cairo-Dakar, Algiers-Lagos, Tripoli-Windhoek

Tweter Tweet
Tell a Friend:

/ Contact / Whatsapp / Contact by Skype / Contact by Phone / / Print this page /

Return to the previous page Back
The Subject “Trans-African Road Network” belongs to the following Online Higher Educational Programs taught by EENI Global Business School:
  1. Courses: Transport in Africa, Road transport, Multimodal transport
  2. Diploma: International Transport
  3. Masters: Transport in Africa, Business in Africa, International Transport, Foreign Trade
  4. Doctorates: Global Logistics, African Business, World Trade

Online African Students (Masters, Doctorates, Business)

Learning materials in Courses, Masters, Doctorates in International Business in English or Study, Master in International Business in French Corridors de transport africains Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese Africa corredores Study Master Doctorate Business in Spanish Africa corredores

African Northern Corridor (Burundi, Rwanda, Kenya, and Uganda) Road Transport Course Master

Description: African Transport Corridors.

Fifteen African Countries are landlocked: Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Chad, the Central African Republic, Ethiopia, Lesotho, Malawi, Mali, Niger, Rwanda, Eswatini (Swaziland), Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Implications for these countries:

  1. High logistics costs (up to 77%)
  2. Too far from the largest African and World markets
  3. Cannot take enough advantage of the Globalisation model

Benefits of the African corridors for the landlocked countries:

  1. Gateway for the country (import and export of goods)
  2. Regional economic development: Concept of Corridor as engine of the socio-economic development
  3. New industry and related services
  4. Creates employment

According to the “Regional Integration and Trade Department” of the NEPAD, there are four types of the African Corridors.

  1. Transport (only one mode)
  2. Multimodal (more than one mode, for example, Road and Rail transport)
  3. Logistics (the institutional framework has been harmonised, related high-value services)
  4. Economic (Furthermore, attraction of investments - public and private-, new economic activities in the corridor region)

The Trans-African Roads (economic area of the African Civilisation) consists of nine corridors.

Highway From - To Kilometres
1 Cairo-Dakar 8,640
2 Algiers-Lagos 4,500
3 Tripoli-Windhoek 9,610
4 Cairo-Gaborone 8,860
5 Dakar-N’Djamena 4,500
6 N’Djamena-Djibouti 4,220
7 Dakar-Lagos 4,010
8 Lagos-Mombasa 6,260
9 Beira-Lobito 3,520
TOTAL 54,120

These African Corridors should connect with direct routes all the African capitals, improve the Road transport facilities and finally contribute to the Economic Integration of the African continent.

  1. 54,000 kilometres
  2. Near 25% of the African corridors are missing links
  3. Estimated cost to complete the Trans-African Roads: 4.2 billion dollars
  4. Main promoters: the African Union, NEPAD, and all the Regional Economic Communities

Maritime Transport in Africa

Cairo-Dakar Corridor (Trans-African Highway): Egypt, Libya, Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco, Mauritania, Western Sahara, and Senegal

Lobito Corridor, Port, Angola, Access to the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Zambia (Road Transport Course)

Trans-Sahelian Highway: Senegal, Mali, Burkina Faso, Niger, Nigeria, Cameroon, and Chad (Road Transport Course Master)

Algiers-Lagos Corridor - Trans-Saharan Highway: Algeria, Niger, Nigeria, Mali, and Tunisia (Road Transport Course)

  1. Intra-African trade
  2. International Guidelines on Safe Load Securing for Road Transport

EENI African Portal

We Trust in Africa (EENI African Portal)

Masters and Doctorates in Global Business adapted to:

  1. Eastern African Students: Eritrea, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade Eritrea, Ethiopia, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade Ethiopia, Kenya: Doctorates, Masters, Foreign Trade, Business Kenya, Mauritius, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade Mauritius, Malawi Masters, Doctorates, Foreign Trade, Business Malawi, Seychelles, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade Seychelles, Somalia, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade Somalia, Sudan, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade Sudan, Tanzania, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade Tanzania, and Uganda, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade Uganda.
  2. Western African Students: Gambia, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade The Gambia, Ghana, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade Ghana, Liberia Online Master / Doctorate in Business, Foreign Trade Liberia, Nigeria Doctorates, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade Nigeria and Sierra Leone, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade Sierra Leone
  3. Central African Students: Cameroon, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade Cameroon and Rwanda, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade Rwanda
  4. Southern African Students: Botswana, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade Botswana, Eswatini (Swaziland), Master, International Business, Foreign Trade Eswatini (Swaziland), Lesotho, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade Lesotho, Namibia, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade Namibia, South Africa, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade South Africa Zambia (Study Master Doctorate Business) Zambia, and Zimbabwe, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade Zimbabwe.
  5. Northern African Students: Egypt, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade Egypt and Libya

Djibouti-N’Djamena Corridor: Sudan, Ethiopia, Nigeria, Djibouti, and Chad (Road Transport Course)

(c) EENI Global Business School (1995-2021)
Due to the COVID Pandemic, EENI has implemented teleworking. Please only contact by email, WhatsApp or through the information request form
We do not use cookies
Back to top of this page