Central Corridor (Africa)

EENI Business School & HA University

Syllabus of the Subject: Central Transport Corridor (Gateway to Burundi, Congo, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda), Transport Course.

  1. Introduction to the Central Corridor
  2. Main features of the Central Corridor
  3. Access to Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda

Trans-African Corridors

The Subject “African Central Corridor” is part of the following Online Higher Education Programs taught by EENI:
  1. Courses: Transport in Africa, Road transport, Multimodal transport
  2. Masters: Transport in Africa, Business in Africa, International Transport, Foreign Trade
  3. Doctorates: Global Logistics, African Business, Global Trade

Student, Online Doctorate in International Business

Masters and Doctorates in International Business adapted to the countries of the  Central Corridor: Rwanda, Master Doctorate Business Rwanda, Tanzania, Master Doctorate Business Tanzania, and Uganda, Master Doctorate Business Uganda.

Learning materials in Master in International Business in English or Study, Master in International Business in French Corridor central (Afrique) Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese Corredor Africano Central Study Master Doctorate Business in Spanish Corredor Central

Example of the Online Subject: Central Corridor (Africa)
Central Corridor (Tanzania, DR Congo)

Tweter Tweet
Tell a Friend:

/ Contact / Whatsapp / Contact by Skype / Contact by Phone / / Print this page /

Paterson Ngatchou: EENI Academic Coordinator for Anglophone Countries
Return to the previous page Back

Description of the Subject: African Central Corridor

The African Central Corridor (1,300 kilometres) links:

  1. Central Africa: Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, and Rwanda
  2. East Africa: Tanzania and Uganda

Key features of the Central Corridor:

  1. Managed by the Central Corridor Transit Transport Facilitation Agency
  2. Types of transport: Road, Rail, and inland waterways
  3. General state of the road: good conditions. E-Cargo available
  4. Estimated population in the region: 120 million people

The largest port is the Port of Dar Es Salaam

  1. Port of Dar es Salaam container dwell time: 9-11 days (29 days in 2008)
  2. Six Inland Container Depots
  3. 65% of the Tanzanian foreign trade

Other ports

  1. Isaka Dry Port
  2. Port of Mwanza, Kemondo Bay, Port Bell, and Jinja Port
  3. Port of Kigoma, Bujumbura, Moba, Baraka, Kasanga, Kalundu, and Kalemie

Railway system: Tanzania Railways Corporation (2,700 kilometres of one-metre gauge). Only 6 percent of the Central Corridor traffic

One-stop Border Posts in Rusumo (Burundi - Rwanda), Mutukula (Uganda), and Kabanga/Kobero (Tanzania). One-stop Inspection Stations (OSIS) in Dar es Salaam port, Rusumo, Vigwaza, Manyoni, and Nyakanazi.

Main cities of the Central Corridor:

  1. Tanzania: Dar Es Salaam, Chalinze (Muheza - Arusha - Namanga: links with the Northern Corridor), Kilosa, Dodoma, Singida, Igunga, Isaka (Shingaya, Mwanza), Nyakanazi, Nyakahura, Muleba, Bukoba, Kyaka, and Mutukula
  2. Burundi: Kabero, Ngozi, Gitega, and Bujumbura
  3. Rwanda: Kigali, Goma, and Bukavu
  4. Uganda: Mutukula, Masaka (Links with the Northern Corridor)
  5. Extension to the RD Congo: Goma and Bukavu to Walikale

Access to Zambia

  1. Tanzania: Dar Es Salaam-Corridor (Kilosa, Iringa, Mbeya, and Tunduma) links with Lusaka
  2. Tanzania: via Lake Tanganyika-Mpulungu

Links with other Trans-African corridors:

  1. Cairo-Gaborone

African Regional Economic Communities involved:

  1. Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)
  2. East African Community (EAC)
  3. Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS)
  4. Southern African Development Community (SADC)
  5. COMESA-EAC-SADC Free Trade Agreement (FTA)
  6. Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD)

Main languages: French and English.

Main religion in the Central Corridor region: Christianity

EENI Business School African Portal

Africa: Foreign Trade and Business (Master)

The Central Corridor belongs to the African Civilisation.

  1. Central African Economic Area
  2. East African Economic Area

(c) EENI Business School & HA University (We do not use cookies)