Pre-shipment inspection (Master)

EENI Business School & HA University

Syllabus of the Subject: Pre-shipment inspection (Non-tariff Measures)

  1. Introduction to the pre-shipment inspection in the foreign trade
  2. Types of pre-shipment controls
  3. Agreement on Preshipment Inspection

The objectives of the subject “Pre-shipment inspection” are the following:

  1. To understand the key concepts related to the pre-shipment inspection
  2. To analyse the types of pre-expedition controls implemented by the Governments
  3. To know the requirements that can be demanded in a pre-shipment inspection

Example of the Online Subject - Pre-shipment inspection:
Pre-shipment inspection (Master Trade)

The Subject “Pre-shipment inspection” is part of the following Online Higher Education Programs taught by EENI Business School & HA University:
  1. Courses: Non-tariff Measures, Foreign Trade Management
  2. Diploma in International Trade
  3. Masters: International Business, Foreign Trade and Marketing, International Transport, Export Back Office
  4. Doctorate in Global Trade

Online Continuing education (Masters, Courses)

Learning materials in: Master in International Business in English Study Master Doctorate Business in Spanish Inspección previa a la expedición Study, Master in International Business in French Inspection avant expédition Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese Inspeção Pré-Embarque.

Area of Knowledge: Foreign trade.

Tweter Tweet
Tell a Friend:

/ Contact / Whatsapp / Contact by Skype / Contact by Phone / / Print this page /

Paterson Ngatchou: EENI Academic Coordinator for Anglophone Countries
Return to the previous page Back

Description of the Online Subject - Preshipment Inspection:

In foreign trade, the pre-shipment inspection (prior to the shipment) is a non-tariff technical measure whose main objective is to safeguard the national interest (avoiding the fraud in a certain product, controlling the evasion of capital and Customs duties...)

  1. Pre-shipment inspection is mandatory for the exporter
  2. Pre-shipment inspection (expedition) must be carried out by an independent company (inspecting agency) acting on behalf of the importing country
  3. Pre-shipment controls usually inspect the price, quantity or quality of the products.

Types of pre-shipment inspection (PI)

  1. Pre-shipment inspection
  2. Direct dispatch (consignment) requirement (prohibition of stopping at a third country)
  3. Requirements for passage through a specific port of customs
  4. Monitoring and supervision requirements for product imports (price, volume)

Agreement on Preshipment Inspection of the World Trade Organisation

  1. Application of the principles of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT)
  2. Obligations of governments: transparency, non-discrimination, confidentiality, clear guidelines for the inspection of the export prices, technical assistance...

Related information:

  1. Customs and World Trade Organisation
  2. Anti-dumping Measures and safeguards (Agreement on Safeguards)
  3. Import license and contingents
  4. SPS Agreement
  5. TBT Agreement

(c) EENI Business School & HA University (We do not use cookies)