EENI Global Business School

Agreement on Preshipment Inspection

Share by Twitter

Syllabus of the Subject: WTO Agreement on Preshipment Inspection

  1. Preshipment Inspection (PSI) in foreign trade (Import, Export)
  2. Introduction to the Agreement on Preshipment Inspection of the World Trade Organisation (WTO)

The objectives of the subject “Agreement on Preshipment Inspection” are the following:

  1. Understand the pillars of the WTO Agreement on Preshipment Inspection
  2. Know the importance of the Preshipment Inspection in the export & import operations
  3. An in-depth analysis of the Agreement on Preshipment Inspection to evaluate the implications for an exporting company

Sample - Agreement on Preshipment Inspection:
Agreement on Preshipment Inspection of the World Trade Organisation (WTO)

Online Education (Courses, Masters, Doctorates): Globalisation and International Organisations

Online Education (Courses, Masters, Doctorates): Trade Facilitation Programs. TFA Agreement

Learning materials in Courses, Masters, Doctorates in International Business and Foreign Trade in English Study Master Doctorate in International Business in Spanish Acuerdo sobre Inspección Previa a la Expedición Study, Course Master Doctorate in International Business in French Accord sur l’inspection avant expédition Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese Acordo sobre a Inspeção Pré-embarque.

Description - Agreement on Preshipment Inspection

In Foreign Trade, the Preshipment Inspection consists of external companies or bodies verifying the exports of a company. This information can be based on the export price (to avoid over billing), quality or quantity of the products to be exported.

The custom classification of the goods to be exported may also be included in this agreement.

All these practices (Non-tariff Measures and Technical Barriers to Trade), common in Foreign Trade, are recognised in the Agreement on Preshipment Inspection of the World Trade Organisation.

This type of pre-shipment inspections are implemented by the Governments as a Safeguard measure seeking to protect the general interest of the country. These measures also help to prevent tax and Customs fraud.

The Agreement on Preshipment Inspection of the World Trade Organisation forces to the governments to act in a transparent and non-discriminatory manner, in addition to not impeding the foreign trade facilitation.

The Agreement on Preshipment Inspection requires that the inspection be carried out in the custom territory from which the goods are exported.

Non-tariff Measures:

  1. Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures (SPS)
  2. Anti-dumping Measures and Safeguards (WTO Agreement on Safeguards)
  3. Import Licenses, Tariff-rate Quotas and Prohibitions
  4. WTO Agreement on Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT)

Customs and the World Trade Organisation

The World Trade Organisation member states: Albania, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Eswatini (Swaziland), European Union, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyz Republic, Laos, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of the Congo, Russian Federation, Romania, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tanzania, Tajikistan, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

  1. Countries in process of accession to the World Trade Organization: Afghanistan, Algeria, Andorra, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Belarus, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Comoros, Curacao, Ethiopia, Equatorial Guinea, Holy See, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Uzbekistan, Syria, São Tomé and Príncipe, Serbia, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, East Timor, Yemen
  2. Government with observer status: Turkmenistan
  3. Non-member country: North Korea

(c) EENI Global Business School (1995-2022)
We do not use cookies
Top of this page