EENI Global Business School & University
Port of Mombasa (Kenya)

Syllabus of the Subject - Port of Mombasa (Kenya): The largest East African port, Transport Course.

  1. Introduction to the Port of Mombasa (Kenya): the largest East African port
  2. Gateway to Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ethiopia, Rwanda, Sudan, South Sudan, Somalia, and Tanzania
  3. Other ports of Kenya: Kiunga, Lamu, and Malindi

Maritime Transport in Africa (East African Ports)

EENI Global Business School & University, Masters

The Subject “Port of Mombasa (Kenya)belongs to the following Online Higher Education Programs taught by EENI Global Business School:
  1. Logistics Courses: Transport in Africa, Maritime Transport
  2. Diploma: Business in East Africa
  3. Masters: Transport in Africa, Business in Africa, International Business, Foreign Trade
  4. Doctorates: African Business, Global Logistics, World Trade

African Student, Master International Business

EENI Online Masters and Doctorates in Global Business adapted to the Kenya Doctorates, Online Master Kenyan Students

Learning materials in Master in International Business in English or Study, Master in International Business in French Port de Mombasa. Summaries in Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese Porto de Mombasa Study Master Doctorate Business in Spanish Puerto de Mombasa

EENI Global Business School in Swahili: Shule ya biashara

Example of the Subject: Port of Mombasa (Kenya)
Port of Mombasa (Kenya, Course)

Tweter Tweet
Tell a Friend:

/ Contact / Whatsapp / Contact by Skype / Contact by Phone / / Print this page /

Return to the previous page Back

Description of the Subject: Port of Mombasa (Kenya).

The Port of Mombasa is the largest port in East Africa and Kenya; this port is a gateway to other regional markets: Burundi, Rwanda, Tanzania, Sudan, South Sudan, Ethiopia, Somalia, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Other Kenyan ports are Kiunga, Lamu, Malindi, Kilifi, Mtwapa, Funzi, Shimoni, and Vanga.

Port of Mombasa:

  1. The Port of Mombasa is the largest port in East Africa
  2. Gateway to the East and Central African Markets
  3. Port Hinterland (by Road):
    1. Central Africa: Burundi, Rwanda, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Eastern provinces)
    2. East Africa: Ethiopia, South Sudan, Sudan, Somalia, Tanzania (Northern regions), and Uganda
  4. Railway to Uganda and Tanzania (Rail Transport in Africa)
  5. The main Import/Export products are cars, crude oil, cement, coffee, tea, sugar, and Containerised cargo
  6. Management of the Port of Mombasa: Kenya Ports Authority
  7. Sixteen Deepwater berths
  8. Two petroleum terminals: Kipevu and Shimanzi
  9. Container Terminal of the Port of Mombasa (250,000 TEU (twenty-foot equivalent unit) annually)
  10. General cargo berths. Ro-ro facilities
  11. Project: Export Processing Zone and/or Free Trade Zone
  12. Access to the Kenyan cities: Nairobi, Kisumu, Nakuru, Eldoret

EENI Online Masters and Doctorates in Global Business adapted to Ethiopia, Master Doctorate Business Ethiopia, Sudan, Master Doctorate Business Sudan, Tanzania, Master Doctorate Business Tanzania, and Uganda, Master Doctorate Business Uganda.

Distance in nautical miles (Nm). From the Port of Mombasa to:



  1. Kipini: 105
  2. Malindi: 60
  3. Kilifi: 30
  4. Mtwapa: 9
  5. Lamu: 130

Madagascar. Majunga: 790

Mauritius. Port Louis: 1,419


  1. Maputo: 1,467
  2. Beira: 1,139

Seychelles. Mahe Island: 949


  1. Berbera: 1,622
  2. Kismayu: 301
  3. Mogadishu: 499


  1. Dar es-Salaam: 171
  2. Lindi: 384
  3. Mtwara: 368
  4. Tanga: 66
  5. Zanzibar: 134

Djibouti: 1,729

South Africa.

  1. Cape Town: 2,503
  2. Port of Durban: 1,703

Middle East

Yemen. Aden: 1,615. Al Mukalla: 1,436.

Oman. Muscat: 2,114


  1. United Kingdom. East London: 1,956



  1. Madras: 3,037
  2. Bombay: 2,392
  3. Kandla: 2,411

Pakistan. Karachi: 2,349

Sri Lanka. Colombo: 2,496

The Port of Mombasa belongs to the East African Economic Area (African Civilisation).

More information about Kenya (African Portal - EENI Global Business School).

  1. Transport and Logistics in Kenya
  2. Bethwell Allan Ogot
  3. Ali Al'amin Mazrui
  4. Naushad N. Merali
  5. Bhimji Depar Shah

Africa: Foreign Trade and Business (Master)

Trans-African Roads

  1. Cairo-Gaborone Corridor
  2. Lagos-Mombasa Corridor
  3. Asia-Africa Growth Corridor

African Regional Economic Communities:

  1. IGAD (Intergovernmental Authority on Development
  2. EAC (East African Community)
  3. COMESA (Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa)
  4. Tripartite agreement COMESA-EAC-SADC

(c) EENI Global Business School
Affordable Higher Education for All
We do not use cookies
Back to top of this page