EENI Global Business School

EU Free Trade Agreements

Share by Twitter

Syllabus of the Online Subject: European Union's Free Trade Agreements

  1. Introduction to the European Union Trade Agreements
  2. Rules of origin applicable to the EU preferential agreements
    1. EU's preferential rules of origin
    2. Completely obtained / sufficiently transformed goods
    3. Minimal Operations
    4. Cumulation
    5. Tolerance or de minimis
    6. Direct Transport or non-handling standard
    7. Duty drawback
  3. Non-preferential rules of origin
  4. Proof of origin: Form A (SPG), EUR MED, EUR 1
  5. EU's Generalised System of Preferences (GSP)
  6. EU Economic Partnership Agreements (EPAs)
  7. European Union Free Trade Agreements (FTA)
  8. EU Autonomous Trade Regimes
  9. Customs Unions
  10. Bilateral and regional negotiations in progress.
    1. Transatlantic Trade and Investment Treaty (TTIP) with the United States

European Union: Association and Free Trade Agreements with the third countries

The objectives of the subject “European Union Free trade agreements (FTAs)” are the following:

  1. To understand the EU's preferential trade agreements with the third countries
  2. To know how to apply the rules of origin of the agreements
  3. To analyse the different existing agreements: free trade agreements, economic association agreements, customs unions, etc

European Union-Chile Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

The Subject “European Union's Agreements (FTA)” belongs to the following Online Higher Educational Programs taught by EENI Global Business School:
  1. Doctorates: European Business, World Trade
  2. Masters: Business in Europe, International Business, Foreign Trade
  3. Course: EU International Relations

Online Students, Master in International Business and Foreign Trade

Masters and Doctorates in International Business adapted for the Students from the European Union, Masters, Doctorates, Courses, International Business, Foreign Trade European Union

Learning materials in Courses, Masters, Doctorates in International Business and Foreign Trade in English or Study Master Doctorate in International Business in Spanish Acuerdos de la UE Study, Course Master Doctorate in International Business in French Accords de l’Union européenne Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese Acordos da União Europeia

European Union-Algeria Association Agreement

EU Trade Agreements:

  1. European Union-Andean Community (2012)
    1. European Union-Peru-Colombia Free Trade Agreement (FTA)
  2. European Union-MERCOSUR
  3. European Union-Chile (Association Agreement, 2005)
  4. Mexico-European Union (Economic Partnership Agreement, 2000)
  5. European Union-Central America
  6. European Economic Area (European Union-European Free Trade Association)
  7. European Union-South Korea (2015)
  8. ASEAN-European Union
  9. European Union-Gulf Cooperation Council
  10. Turkey-European Union Customs Union
  11. India-European Union
  12. Albania: Stabilisation and Association Agreement (2006)
  13. Andorra: Customs Union (1991)
  14. Bosnia and Herzegovina: Stabilisation and Association Agreement (2015)
  15. Faroe Islands: Trade Agreement (1997)
  16. Georgia: Free Trade and Association Agreement (2016)
  17. Kosovo: Stabilisation and Association Agreement (2016)
  18. Macedonia: Stabilisation and Association Agreement (2004)
  19. Moldova: Association Agreement (2016)
  20. Montenegro: Stabilisation and Association Agreement (2010)
  21. San Marino: Customs Union (1992)
  22. Serbia: Stabilisation and Association Agreement (2013)
  23. Ukraine: Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Agreement (2016) and Association Agreement (2014)
  24. Armenia: Partnership and Cooperation Agreement (1999)
  25. Azerbaijan: Partnership and Cooperation Agreement (1999)
  26. Cameroon: Economic Partnership Agreement Interim (2009)
  27. Ghana: Economic Partnership Agreement provisionally applied (2016)
  28. Canada: Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) (2016)
  29. Ecuador: Trade Agreement provisionally applied (2017)
  30. Iraq: Partnership and Cooperation Agreement (2012)
  31. Kazakhstan: Partnership and Cooperation Agreement reinforced (2016)
  32. Papua New Guinea (2011) and Fiji: Provisional Association Agreement
  33. South Africa: Trade, Development and Cooperation Agreement (2000)
  34. Madagascar, Mauricio, the Seychelles and Zimbabwe: Economic Partnership Agreement (2009)
  35. Southern African Development Community (SADC): Economic Partnership Agreement provisionally applied (2016)
  36. European Union-Ivory Coast Economic Partnership Agreement provisionally applied (2016)
  37. European Union-CARIFORUM (Economic Partnership Agreement)
  38. Association Agreement with Algeria (2005)
  39. Association Agreement with Egypt (2004)
  40. Association Agreement with Israel (2000)
  41. Association Agreement with Jordan (2002)
  42. Association Agreement interim with Lebanon (2003)
  43. Association Agreement with Morocco (2000)
  44. Association Agreement with the Palestinian Authority (1997)
  45. Cooperation Agreement with Syria (1977)
  46. Association Agreement with Tunisia (1998)
  47. European Union-Vietnam Free Trade Agreement (FTA)
  48. European Union-Singapore Free Trade Agreement (FTA)
  49. European Union-Japan Free Trade Agreement (FTA)
  50. European Union-Southern African Development Community (SADC) Free Trade Agreement (FTA)
  51. European Union-Bosnia and Herzegovina Stabilization and Accession Agreement (2015)
  52. European Union-Montenegro Stabilization and Accession Agreement
  53. European Union-CARIFORUM States Economic Partnership Agreement
  54. Free Trade Agreement European Union-Eastern and Southern African States (Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles, Zimbabwe)
  55. European Union-United Kingdom Free Trade and Economic Integration Agreement

Agreements of the European Union

Description: European Union Trade Agreements

The European Union is the largest global trade player: 20% of global trade.

China is the second-largest trading partners of the European Union after the United States.

The main objectives of the European Union Free Trade Agreements (FTA) are:

  1. To open new international markets for products and services
  2. To increase the foreign direct investment (FDI) flows
  3. To make the International Trade cheaper (eliminating customs duties)
  4. To make the external trade faster
  5. To make the policy environment more predictable

Each Free Trade Agreement negotiated by the European Union is adapted to the situation of each nation.


“The more ambitious the Free Trade Agreement is, more benefits are to be gained from the agreement.”

The European Union has granted duty-free access for most of the imports from the developing countries (Generalised system of preferences).

The European Union Free Trade Agreements (FTA): The Arab Republic of Egypt, Jordan, Syria, Tunisia, the Palestinian Authority, European Free Trade Association (EFTA), South Korea, Association of Southeast Asian Nations, the Gulf Cooperation Council, Central America, the countries of the Andean Community, the MERCOSUR, Chile, Mexico, Turkey, India, China, Lebanon, Algeria, the CARIFORUM, Ivory Coast, and Georgia.

The beneficiary countries of the EU Free Trade agreements are Germany, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, France, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, the Czech Republic, Romania and Sweden.

European Union-Mexico Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

European Union-South Korea Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

European Union-Central America (Guatemala, Honduras, Costa Rica, Panama, El Salvador, Nicaragua) Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

SADC-European Union
Southern African Development Community (SADC)-European Union Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

(c) EENI Global Business School (1995-2021)
We do not use cookies
Top of this page