EENI-Business School

European Free Trade Association

Syllabus of the Subject: European Free Trade Association (EFTA).

  1. Introduction to the European Free Trade Association (EFTA)
  2. Economic Profile of the EFTA States: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland
  3. European Economic Area
  4. Free movement of products and services
  5. International Relations of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA)
  6. EFTA's Free Trade Agreements (FTA):
    1. Asia: Singapore, India, South Korea, the Philippines
    2. America: Canada, Colombia, Chile, Mexico, Peru, Central America
    3. Europe: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine
    4. Africa: Egypt, Morocco, Tunisia, the Southern African Customs Union (SACU)
    5. The Middle East: The Gulf Cooperation Council, Jordan, Lebanon

The objectives of the subject “European Free Trade Association (EFTA)” are the following:

  1. To understand the objectives and functioning of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA)
  2. To evaluate the benefits for the EFTA States: the free movement of goods and services
  3. To know EFTA's Free Trade Agreements
  4. To understand the concept of “The European Economic Area (EEA)”
The Subject “European Free Trade Association (EFTA)” is part of the following programs:
  1. Doctorate: Europe
  2. Masters (e-learning): International Business, Economic Relations, Europe
  3. Course: Business in the EFTA States, EU's International Relations

Languages of study English or Spanish Asociación Europea de Libre Comercio French Association européenne de libre-échange Portuguese Associação Europeia de Livre Comércio (AELC)

Master in International Business for EFTA States: Liechtenstein, Norway, Iceland, Switzerland

Sample of the subject: European Free Trade Association (EFTA)
Canada-EFTA States Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

Description of the Subject: European Free Trade Association (EFTA)

The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) is a regional economic organisation created for the promotion of the free trade and economic integration of his member economies: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland.

The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland) are small but world leaders in several sectors.

  1. Liechtenstein and Switzerland are strong financial centres and have global companies
  2. Iceland and Norway are leaders in fish production, metal industry, and maritime transport

The European Economic Area consists of the twenty-eight European Union member economies (BREXIT) and the three European Economic Area - EFTA States (Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway) into an internal market lead by the same rules and regulations, with the objective to enable international trade in goods and services, capital, and people to move freely in the European Economic Area.

A substantial part of the European Economic Area Agreement concerns the free movement of the export products. The main principle is that the export products may be traded between all the thirty Member States without customs duties or barrier from national regulations.

The European Economic Area Agreement grants the freedom to provide services anywhere in the European Economic Area.

The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) belongs to the European Economic Area of the Western Christian Civilisation.

EFTA-Serbia Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) network of Free Trade Agreements (FTA) secures to the economic operators a preferential access to international markets:

  1. Albania
  2. Canada
  3. Chile
  4. Colombia
  5. Egypt
  6. Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf
  7. Israel
  8. Jordan
  9. South Korea
  10. Lebanon
  11. Macedonia
  12. Mexico
  13. Morocco
  14. Palestine
  15. Peru
  16. Serbia
  17. Singapore
  18. Southern African Customs Union
  19. Tunisia
  20. Turkey
  21. Ukraine

Chile-EFTA Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

EFTA-Turkey Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

European Free Trade Association (EFTA)

Free Trade Agreements (negotiations):

  1. Algeria
  2. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  3. Hong Kong (the People's Republic of China)
  4. India
  5. Indonesia
  6. Montenegro
  7. Russia, Belarus, and Kazakhstan
  8. Thailand

The European Free Trade Association (Europe) has Joint Declarations on Cooperation with the following partners:

  1. Malaysia
  2. Mauritius
  3. The Southern Common Market (MERCOSUR)
  4. Mongolia
  5. Montenegro
  6. Panama

Switzerland has signed bilateral Trade Agreements with the European Union (EU).

Samples - EFTA

EFTA-Bosnia and Herzegovina Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

EFTA-Egypt Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

EFTA-Georgia Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

EFTA-Jordan Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

EFTA-Macedonia Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

Colombia-EFTA Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

EFTA-Southern African Customs Union (SACU) Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

EFTA-Lebanon Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

EFTA-Ukraine Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

EFTA-Morocco Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

EFTA-Montenegro Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

EFTA-Central America Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

(c) EENI- Business School