EU - Generalised System of Preferences (GSP, Course, Master)

EENI Business School & HA University

Syllabus of the Online Subject: European Union Generalised System of Preferences (GSP).

  1. Introduction to the EU's Generalised System of Preferences (GSP)
  2. The New GSP preferences (2014-2024)
  3. Revised EU trade scheme to help developing countries
  4. beneficiary countries under the current GSP
  5. Products enjoying preferences in the reformed Generalised System of Preferences
  6. Practical guide to the new GSP trade regimes for Developing Countries
  7. The New Union Customs Code and the GSP
  8. The three EU import regimes
  9. European Union's Foreign Trade with GSP countries
  10. GSP+ scheme
    1. Background of the GSP+
  11. Everything But Arms arrangement (EBA)
  12. Duty-free and quota-free treatment for all least-developed countries
  13. GSP rules of origin
    1. Tolerance or De Minimis
    2. Types of cumulation (Bilateral, Regional, Extended)

The objectives of the Online Subject “Generalised System of Preferences (GSP)” are the following:

  1. To understand the characteristics of the new EU's Generalised System of Preferences (GSP)
  2. To analyse the SPG + scheme and the arrangement Everything but Arms
  3. To know which countries and under what conditions are beneficiaries of the GSP
  4. To know how to use the rules of origin under the Generalised System of Preferences

The eLearning Subject “Generalised System of Preferences (GSP)” is part of the following Online Higher Education Programs taught by EENI Business School & HA University:
  1. Doctorates: Europe, Africa, Global Trade
  2. Masters: Europe, International Business, Foreign Trade, Economic Relations, African Business
  3. Courses: International Relations of Africa, Eastern Europe, EU's International Relations, Export to the EU

Learning materials in Master in International Business in English or Study Master Doctorate Business in Spanish Sistema Preferencias Generalizadas (SPG) Study, Master in International Business in French Système préférences généralisées SGP Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese Sistema de preferências generalizadas SPG

Student, Online Doctorate in International Business

Example of the Online Subject: European Union (EU) Generalised System of Preferences
Generalised System of Preferences (GSP, Course)

Tweter Tweet
Tell a Friend:

/ Contact / Whatsapp / Contact by Skype / Contact by Phone / / Print this page /

Paterson Ngatchou: EENI Academic Coordinator for Anglophone Countries
Return to the previous page Back

Description of the Online Subject: European Union's Generalised System of Preferences (GSP)

Since 1971, the European Union schemes like the Generalised System of Preferences (GSP) have allowed to developing countries to pay lower import tariffs.

Under the revised scheme of the GSP (Generalised System of Preferences), imports that will receive the Generalised System of Preferences are estimated at EUR 37.7 billion.

The actual Generalised System of Preferences scheme covers three factors:

  1. General Generalised System of Preferences Arrangement (import tariff reductions)
  2. The Special incentive arrangement for sustainable development and good governance (GSP+). GSP+ offers additional preferences to support vulnerable developing countries in their ratification and implementation of international conventions in the field of human and labour rights, sustainable development and good economic governance
  3. The Everything But Arms Arrangement, which provides for complete access (duty-free and Quota-free) to the European Union's market except for arms and armaments for the Least-Developed Countries (as defined by the United Nations)

In 2001, the Council adopted the “Everything But Arms Regulation,” granting duty-free access to imports of all the products from Least-Developed Countries, except arms and ammunitions.

European Union GSP Form A

Total GSP (Generalised System of Preferences) beneficiary countries: 88 (177 in the previous scheme).

The Least-Developed Countries benefiting from “Everything But Arms” arrangement (40 countries):

  1. Africa (34 countries): Angola, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Benin, Chad, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the Central African Republic, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, the Gambia, Guinea, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, the Comoros, Liberia, Lesotho, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Malawi, Mozambique, Niger, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Sudan, South Sudan, Sierra Leone, Senegal, Somalia, Togo, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Kenya, and Cape Verde
  2. Asia-Pacific (9): Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Nepal, Timor-Leste, Yemen, Kiribati, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu
  3. The Caribbean: Haiti

GSP+ beneficiaries (13): Armenia, Bolivia, Cape Verde, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Georgia, Guatemala, Mongolia, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, and Peru.

GSP Beneficiaries until 31 December 2015: Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Ecuador, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, China, Ecuador, Maldives, Turkmenistan, and Thailand.

Countries that are no longer on the GSP beneficiary list (current scheme).

  1. All the European Union members, the United States, Australia, and New Zealand are not beneficiaries
  2. Mediterranean Partnership (EUROMED): Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, and Tunisia
  3. CARIFORUM members
  4. Latin America: Argentina, Brazil, Cuba, Mexico, Uruguay, and Venezuela
  5. Russia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, and Kazakhstan
  6. Africa: Gabon, Libya, Mauritius, the Seychelles, South Africa, and Zimbabwe
  7. The Middle East: Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), and Oman
  8. Asia: Brunei Darussalam, Iran, Macau, Maldives, Malaysia, and Papua New Guinea

Union Customs Code (Course, EU)

The Generalised System of Preferences belongs to European Economic Area of Western civilisation.

(c) EENI Business School & HA University (We do not use cookies)