EENI Global Business School
World Trade Organisation, Doha

Syllabus of the Subject: World Trade Organisation (WTO). Global Trading System

  1. Introduction to the World Trade Organisation (WTO)
  2. From the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) to the World Trade Organisation (WTO)
  3. Doha Agenda
  4. Non-tariff Barriers
  5. Trade Facilitation
    1. World Customs Organisation (WCO)
    2. Revised Kyoto Convention (RKC)
    3. International Convention on the Harmonization of Frontier Controls of Goods (UNECE)
    4. Customs and the World Trade Organisation (WTO)
  6. Regionalism and the World Trade Organisation (WTO)
    1. Regional Trade Agreements
  7. Environment and the World Trade Organisation (WTO)
  8. Investments and the WTO
  9. E-commerce
  10. World International Trade Report
  11. International Trade Centre (INTRACEN)

Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights

The objectives of the subject “World Trade Organisation (WTO)” are the following:

  1. To understand the aims of the World Trade Organisation (WTO)
  2. To learn about the importance of the General Agreement on Trade in Services
  3. To understand the principles of the multilateral trading system
  4. To analyse the World Trade Organisation agreements (customs duties, agriculture, services, import licensing procedures) and its implications for the international trade
  5. To explore the customs valuation rules
  6. To know how to interpret the World Trade report of the WTO

Sample - World Trade Organisation (WTO):
Trading System WTO

The Subject “World Trade Organisation” belongs to the following Online Higher Educational Programs taught by EENI Global Business School:
  1. Masters: International Business, Foreign Trade, International Relations
  2. Doctorate: World Trade

Online Students, Master in International Business and Foreign Trade

Learning materials in Courses, Masters, Doctorates in International Business in English or Study, Master in International Business in French Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) Study Master Doctorate Business in Spanish Organización Mundial del Comercio (OMC)

Area of Knowledge: Globalisation.

Trade Facilitation Agreement (TFA) World Trade Organization (WTO)

Tweter Tweet
Tell a Friend:

/ Contact / Whatsapp / Contact by Skype / Contact by Phone / / Print this page /

Return to the previous page Back

Description (World Trade Organisation)

In 1995 was created the World Trade Organisation (WTO) replacing the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) (Created in 1948).

  1. The World Trade Organisation is the sole global body that regulates the International Trade in Goods and Services between 157 nations
  2. The main objective of the World Trade Organisation (WTO) is to facilitate the international trade in goods and services between the exporters and importers
  3. International trade tariff rates and open markets engagement are “bound” in the World Trade Organisation
  4. The negotiated agreements at the World Trade Organisation (WTO) by the member countries should be ratified in their parliaments

The World Trade Organisation defines the principles of the Foreign Trade System:

  1. Without discrimination: a nation should not differentiate between its trade partners (“most-favoured-nation” or MFN status), and it should not show favouritism between national and foreign products or services (“national treatment”)
  2. International Trade - More free: foreign trade barriers should be reduced or eliminated by negotiation
  3. International Trade - predictable: all the actors involved in International Trade (foreign companies, investors, and governments) should be convinced that foreign trade barriers (tariffs and non-tariff barriers) should not be elevated capriciously
  4. International Trade - more competitive: daunting “unfair” practices (export subsidies, dumping)
  5. International Trade - more profitable for Less Developed Countries

The General Agreement on International Trade in Services (GATS) is the sole ensemble of regulations ruling International Trade in Services.

Non-tariff Measures

  1. Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT)
  2. Non-automatic Import licensing, quotas and prohibitions
  3. Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures (SPS)
  4. Safeguards
  5. Preshipment Inspection

The General Agreement on International Trade in Services was negotiated at the Uruguay Round (1986-94) with the objective of regulating the immense international trade in services growth.

The International Trade in Services stand for the fastest growing sector of the global economy:

  1. 60% of global production
  2. 30% of global employment
  3. 20% of the global trade

The World Trade Organisation Agreement on International Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPS) was also negotiated at the Uruguay Round, introducing intellectual property regulations.

Website World Trade Organisation.

Most-Favoured-Nation Treatment (World Trade Organisation)

The World Trade Organisation member states: Albania, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Eswatini (Swaziland), European Union, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyz Republic, Laos, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of the Congo, Russian Federation, Romania, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tanzania, Tajikistan, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries in process of accession to the World Trade Organization (WTO): Afghanistan, Algeria, Andorra, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Belarus, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Comoros, Curacao, Ethiopia, Equatorial Guinea, Holy See (Vatican), Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Uzbekistan, Syria, São Tomé and Príncipe, Serbia, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, East Timor, Yemen

Governments with observer status: Algeria, Andorra, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Belarus, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Comoros, Curacao, Ethiopia, Equatorial Guinea, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Uzbekistan, Syrian Arab Republic, Lebanese Republic, Holy See, Sao Tome and Principe, Serbia, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, East Timor, Turkmenistan

Non-member country: North Korea

Trade in Services

World Trade Organisation WTO, Master Doctorate

World Customs Organisation (Master, Courses)

(c) EENI Global Business School (1995-2021)
Due to the COVID Pandemic, EENI has implemented teleworking. Please only contact by email, WhatsApp or through the information request form
We do not use cookies
Back to top of this page