Business in the Kyrgyz Republic

EENI- School of International Business

Subject: Doing Business in Kyrgyzstan - Bishkek. Syllabus:

  1. Introduction to the Kyrgyz Republic (Kyrgyzstan)
  2. The Kyrgyz Economy
  3. Doing Business in Bishkek
  4. The Economic Profile of the Kyrgyzstan regions
  5. The Kyrgyz Banking System
  6. The Foreign Trade of the Kyrgyz Republic. The Custom regulations
  7. The Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) in Kyrgyzstan
    1. Reasons to Invest in Kyrgyzstan
  8. Business Opportunities in the Kyrgyz Republic
    1. Tourism
    2. Light industry
    3. Agro-industrial sector
    4. Transport
    5. Mining
    6. Electric-power industry
  9. Case Study: Kumtor Gold (33% of the Kyrgyz export of goods and services)
  10. Access to the Kyrgyz market
  11. Business Plan for Kyrgyzstan

The objectives of the subject “Foreign Trade and Doing Business in the Kyrgyz Republic” are the following:

  1. To analyse the Kyrgyz economy and foreign trade
  2. To evaluate the business opportunities in the Kyrgyz Republic
  3. To explore Kyrgyzstan's trade relations with the country of the student
  4. To know Kyrgyzstan's Trade Agreements
  5. To examine the profile of the Kyrgyz companies
  6. To develop a business plan for the Kyrgyz market
The subject “Doing Business in Kyrgyzstan” is studied...
  1. Professional Masters (e-learning): International Business, Muslims Countries, and Asia
  2. Doctorates: Islamic Countries, Asia
  3. Diploma: Central Eurasia

Doctorate and Master in International Business for the Kyrgyz Students.

Course learning materials in English (Spanish Kyrgyzstán French Kirghizistan)

  1. Credits of the subject “Foreign Trade and Doing Business in Kyrgyzstan”: 1 ECTS Credits
  2. Duration: one week

Sample of the subject - Doing Business in Kyrgyzstan:
Doing Business in Kyrgyzstan

Description of the Subject: Doing Business in Kyrgyzstan.

The Kyrgyz Republic: The Central Asian Trade Oasis.

  1. Kyrgyzstan as a strategic position (trans-shipment, the Silk Way) between Europe and Asia
  2. The Kyrgyz Population: 5.6 millions of people
  3. Literacy rate: 98%.
  4. The capital of Kyrgyzstan: Bishkek
  5. The official language: Kyrgyz language (based on the Cyrillic alphabet)
  6. Russian is also spoken in the Kyrgyz Republic
  7. Area: 199,951 square kilometres
  8. Borders of the Kyrgyz Republic: China, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan
  9. The Kyrgyz independence: 1991 (from the Soviet Union)
  10. The Kyrgyz Republic belongs to the Sunni-Turkic cultural area of the Islamic Civilisation
  11. Kyrgyzstan belongs to the Central Eurasian Economic Area of the Islamic Civilisation.

The main religion in Kyrgyzstan:

  1. Islam (80% of the population)
  2. Orthodox: 20%.

The Economy of the Kyrgyz Republic.

  1. Kyrgyzstan has a huge reserves of natural resources and fresh water
  2. Top sectors of the Kyrgyz economy are hydro-power, mining, agriculture, tourism, food processing industry, and building materials
  3. The main Kyrgyz mineral resources are gold, tungsten, aluminium, and coal
  4. The Kyrgyz food processing industry (10,000 companies): sugar, fruits, milk, and cereals
  5. The Kyrgyz exports: precious metals, electricity, agricultural products, industrial goods, food processing products, and textile
  6. Kyrgyzstan has a liberal trade regime
  7. FDI growth: 27%.
  8. Strong economic cooperation with Pakistan
  9. Five Free Economic Zones in Bishkek (2), Naryn, Karakol, and Maimak
  10. Jalalabad oblast: strong industry, mineral resources, agriculture, and tourism

Invest in Kyrgyzstan

The Kyrgyz Republic has Preferential Access and Free Trade Agreements:

  1. Agreement on trade and economic cooperation between the Kyrgyz Republic and the Islamic Republic of Pakistan
  2. Free Trade Agreements (FTA) with Armenia, Kazakhstan, Moldova, the Russian Federation, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan
  3. Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)
  4. Economic Cooperation Organisation (ECO)
  5. Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO)
  6. Eurasian Economic Union (EEU)
  7. Eurasian Economic Community (EurAsEC)
  8. Most-favoured-nation treatment regime

Kyrgyzstan is a member of:

  1. Cooperation Council of Turkic Speaking States (Түрк кеңеш)
  2. Central Asia Regional Economic Cooperation (CAREC) Programme
  3. Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)
  4. Islamic Development Bank
  5. United Nations Organisation (UN)
  6. World Trade Organisation (WTO)
  7. Organisation for security and cooperation in Europe (OSCE)
  8. Economic Social Commission Asia-Pacific (ESCAP)
  9. Asian Development Bank (ADB)
  10. Member of the Central Asia-South Asia Regional Electricity Market (CASAREM) with Afghanistan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, and Tajikistan

Samples - Business in Kyrgyzstan

Community of Independent States CIS

Cooperation Council of Turkic Speaking States

Eurasian Economic Union

Eurasian Economic Community (EurAsEC)

Economic Cooperation Organisation (ECO)

U-EENI University Catalonia is Spain