International Maritime Organisation (Master, Course)

EENI Business School & HA University

Syllabus of the Online Subject - International Maritime Organisation (IMO)

  1. Introduction to the International Maritime Organisation (IMO)
  2. Maritime Security
    1. Transport of goods and containers
    2. Cargo securing (packing)
    3. Fire protection
    4. Navigation
    5. Radio communications, search and rescue
    6. Stability and compartmentalisation
    7. Safety rules for different types of vessels
    8. Maritime cyber risk
  3. International maritime transport facilitation
    1. Convention on Facilitation of International Maritime Traffic (FAL)
    2. Electronic commerce applied to maritime transport facilitation
  4. Maritime protection and piracy
    1. Piracy and armed robbery perpetrated against ships
    2. The fight against piracy in West Africa
    3. Djibouti Code of Conduct
  5. IMO Integrated Global Maritime Information System (GISIS)
  6. Conventions of the International Maritime Organisation (IMO)
  7. Codes of the International Maritime Organisation (IMO)

Example of the Online Subject - International Maritime Organisation (IMO):
International Maritime Organisation (IMO), Course

The eLearning Subject “International Maritime Organisation (IMO)” is part of the following Online Higher Education Programs taught by EENI Business School & HA University:
  1. Logistics Courses: Maritime transport, Multimodal, Transport in Africa
  2. Diplomas: Foreign Trade, International Transport
  3. Masters: International Transport, Transport in Africa, International Business, Foreign Trade, Export Back Office
  4. Doctorates: International Logistics, Global Trade

Online Continuing education (Courses, Certificates, Diplomas

Learning materials in Master in International Business in English Study Master Doctorate Business in Spanish Organización Marítima Internacional Study, Master in International Business in French Organisation maritime internationale Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese Organização Marítima Internacional.

Area of Knowledge: Foreign Trade - Incoterms

Tweter Tweet
Tell a Friend:

/ Contact / Whatsapp / Contact by Skype / Contact by Phone / / Print this page /

Paterson Ngatchou: EENI Academic Coordinator for Anglophone Countries
Return to the previous page Back

Description of the Online Subject - International Maritime Organisation (IMO).

The United Nations (NU) body in charge of ensuring maritime safety and avoiding maritime pollution generated by ships is the International Maritime Organisation (IMO).

In order to fulfil its mission, the International Maritime Organisation (IMO) establishes a series of fair and effective rules (conventions), applicable at a global level, related to the safety and protection of maritime transport.

The International Maritime Organisation (IMO) offers the main agents of maritime transport (ship-owners...) a sectoral regulatory framework.

The rules and regulations of the International Maritime Organisation (IMO) cover all sectors related to maritime transport: ship design and construction, manning, scrapping, ship-owners...

About international maritime transport:

  1. The International Maritime Organisation (IMO) estimates that 80% of global transport is carried out by sea.
  2. Nowadays, international maritime transport is the most efficient, safe and economic means for the vast majority of exported goods.

Creation of the International Maritime Organisation (IMO): 1958

The main purpose of the International Maritime Solid Bulk Cargoes (IMSBC) Code, which replaces the Code of Safe Practices for Solid Bulk Cargoes (BC Code), is to facilitate the safe stowage and transport of solid bulk cargoes by providing information on the dangers associated with the transport of certain types of solid bulk cargoes and instructions on the procedures to be adopted when transporting solid cargoes in bulk is contemplated.

  1. The International Chamber of Shipping is associated to the International Maritime Organisation (IMO)
  2. The International Bureau of Containers and Intermodal Transport (BIC) is an observer member

Conventions of the International Maritime Organisation (IMO)

  1. International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS Convention)
  2. International agreement on cargo lines
  3. International Convention for Safe Containers
  4. International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships (MARPOL Convention)

Codes of the International Maritime Organisation (IMO)

  1. International Security Code for Port and Port Facilities (ISPS)
  2. Safe code of practice for storage and security of cargo (CSS Code)
  3. IMO / ILO / UNECE Code of Practice on the packing of transport units (CTU Code)
  4. International code for the protection of ships and port facilities (ISPS Code)
  5. International maritime code for solid bulk cargoes (IMSBC Code)
  6. International Maritime Code of Dangerous Goods (IMDG Code)
  7. International code for the protection of ships and port facilities (ISPS Code)

Member countries of the International Maritime Organisation (IMO): Albania, Germany, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Saudi Arabia, Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China, Cyprus, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, United Arab Emirates, Eritrea, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, United States of America, Estonia, Ethiopia, Russian Federation, Fiji, Philippines, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Iceland, Cook Islands, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malaysia, Malawi, Maldives, Malta, Morocco, Mauritius, Mauritania, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, New Zealand, Oman, The Netherlands, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland North, Syrian Arab Republic, Czech Republic, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Dominican Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, United Republic of Tanzania, Romania, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Samoa, San Marino, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Somalia, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Suriname, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Turkey, Tuvalu, Ukraine, Uganda, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Hong Kong (China), Faroe Islands, Macao (China)

(c) EENI Business School & HA University (We do not use cookies)