Port of Lobito (Angola)

EENI- School of International Business

Sub-subject: The Port of Lobito (Angola). Access to the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Zimbabwe, and Zambia. Syllabus:

  1. Introduction to the Port of Lobito (Angola)
  2. The main features of the Port of Lobito
  3. Access to Zimbabwe, Zambia, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo
  4. The Benguela Railway
The sub-subject “The Port of Lobito (Angola)” is studied...
  1. Professional Master's Programs (e-learning): Sub-Saharan Africa, Frontier Markets, International Business
  2. Doctorate in Business in Africa
  3. Course: Transport in Africa

Languages of study English or French Angola Portuguese Porto Lobito. Summary in Spanish Puerto Lobito

Sample of the Sub-subject: The Port of Lobito
Port of Lobito (Angola)

We Trust in Africa

Description of the Sub-Subject: The Port of Lobito (Angola).

  1. Location of the Port of Lobito: The Atlantic Coast (Central Africa)
  2. Access to the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Zambia, and Zimbabwe
  3. The Benguela Railway (links Atlantic with the Indian Ocean)
  4. Refrigerated Container Terminal
  5. Deep port (17 metres)
  6. The Port of Lobito is the second port of Angola (the largest is the Port of Luanda)
  7. Since 2008, expansion project of the Port of Lobito
  8. Container Terminal for minerals
  9. Terminal ores
  10. Berthing pier
  11. Distance from the Port of Lobito to (in miles)
    - New York: 7,537
    - Cape Town: 1,410
    - Amsterdam: 5,127
  12. The main cities near the Port of Lobito: Lobito, Benguela, Huambo, Lubango, Silva Porto, Camacupa, Menonge, Cuvelai, Namacunde, Lubango, and Luanda

The Benguela Railway (Caminho de Ferro de Benguela).

  1. Links the Angolan Port of Lobito with Luau
  2. Reopened in 2014 with the Chinese investments (2 billion dollars)
  3. At the Angolan border, ties with the Katanga Railway (access to RD Congo and Zambia)
  4. Max. Speed: 90 kilometres/h
  5. The main cities:
    - Angola: Benguela - Cubal - Huambo -Kuito - Munhango - Luena - Luau
    - Democratic Republic of the Congo: Lubumbashi-Ndola

The Port of Lobito belongs to the Central African Economic Area of the African Civilisation.

Regional Economic Communities:

  1. Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS)
  2. Southern African Development Community (SADC)
  3. COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Agreement

Trans-African Highways (Transport corridors) related to the Port of Lobito:

  1. Beira-Lobito Corridor
  2. Tripoli-Windhoek Corridor
  3. Cairo-Gaborone (in Zambia) corridor
  4. Lobito Corridor

Maritime Transport in Africa - Central African Ports

U-EENI UniversityPeace, Not Terrorism