EENI Global Business School & University
MERCOSUR (Master, Doctorate)

Syllabus of the Subject: MERCOSUR (Southern Common Market).

  1. Introduction to the MERCOSUR (Southern Common Market)
    1. Treaty of Asuncion
  2. Administrative Secretariat of the MERCOSUR
  3. New institutional phase of the MERCOSUR
  4. MERCOSUR political, economic, and commercial
  5. Member countries of the MERCOSUR: Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, and Uruguay
  6. Incorporation of Venezuela and Bolivia (accession process)
  7. MERCOSUR Common External Tariff
  8. MERCOSUR Regime of Origin (ROM)
  9. Businessperson of the MERCOSUR:
    1. Antonio Moraes
    2. Safra
    3. João Marinho
  10. MERCOSUR Free Trade Agreements (FTA)

The objectives of the Subject “MERCOSUR” are to:

  1. Understand the aims (regional integration, socio-economic development) and the organisational structure of the MERCOSUR
  2. Analyse the impact of the MERCOSUR on the economy and the trade among the member countries
  3. Understand the implications of the new incorporations of Venezuela and Bolivia to the MERCOSUR
  4. Analyse the common external tariff, the common classification and the rules of origin of the MERCOSUR
  5. Evaluate the free movement and the intra-MERCOSUR trade
  6. Know the MERCOSUR Free Trade Agreements

EENI Global Business School & University, Masters

The Subject “MERCOSUR” belongs to the following Online Higher Education Programs taught by EENI Global Business School:
  1. Masters: Business in America, International Business, Foreign Trade, Economic Relations
  2. Doctorates: American Business, World Trade
  3. Diploma: Business in South America

Learning materials in Master in International Business in English or Study Master Doctorate Business in Spanish MERCOSUR Study, Master in International Business in French MERCOSUR Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese MERCOSUL

  1. Credits of the Subject “MERCOSUR”: 2 ECTS Credits
  2. Duration: two weeks

Online Student Master in International Business

Example of the Subject- MERCOSUR
MERCOSUR (Master, Doctorate)

Tweter Tweet
Tell a Friend:

/ Contact / Whatsapp / Contact by Skype / Contact by Phone / / Print this page /

Return to the previous page Back

Description of the Subject - MERCOSUR (Southern Common Market).

The MERCOSUR was created by Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, and Uruguay in 1991 with the signing of the Treaty of Asuncion.

Brazil is the largest economy (79% of the gross domestic product of the MERCOSUR), followed by Argentina (18%).

  1. Venezuela joined the MERCOSUR in 2012.
  2. The Asuncion Treaty is based on the doctrine of reciprocal rights and obligations of the member countries of the MERCOSUR
  3. The MERCOSUR (Southern Common Market - America) is the fifth-largest economic bloc in the World with a gross domestic product of 1.989 billion dollars and a population of 295 million
  4. Paraguay was suspended off the MERCOSUR in 2012 to 2013
  5. In 2006, it was signed the Protocol of Accession of Venezuela to the MERCOSUR.
    1. Venezuela is a member of the MERCOSUR since 2012.
    2. The entry of Venezuela to the bloc will occur gradually
  6. Bolivia: Adhesion of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela to the MERCOSUR
  7. The associate members of the Southern Common Market are Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, and Peru
  8. Observer country: Mexico
  9. The MERCOSUR is a Christian economic bloc with a large Catholic majority.

The objectives of the MERCOSUR (Southern Common Market) are:

  1. Free transit of products, services, and factors between the member economies in the MERCOSUR
  2. Fixing of a common external tariff and adopting a common international trade policy
  3. Macroeconomics and sectoral policies coordination of the member States relating to the foreign trade, agriculture, industry, taxes, monetary system, exchange and capital, trade in services, customs, logistics, and communications
  4. Engagement by the members of the MERCOSUR to make the necessary adjustments to their laws in relevant areas to improve the integration process

Chile-MERCOSUR Free Trade Agreement (Course)

MERCOSUR Free Trade Agreements (FTA): Chile, Andean Community, Chile, Mexico, Peru, India, Egypt, Israel, and the European Union.

The European Union-MERCOSUR relationship is based on the European Union-MERCOSUR Interregional Cooperation Framework Agreement signed on 1995 in Madrid between the European Union and its member economies and the MERCOSUR and its Party States. The European Union is the largest trading partner of the MERCOSUR and largest foreign investor in the region.

The Intra-MERCOSUR trade tariff is 0%, and a common external tariff applies to trade with non-MERCOSUR Countries.

A Preferential Trade Agreement with India is in place, a free trade agreement with Israel is awaiting Congress' approval, and different International Trade Agreements are under negotiation with the Southern African Customs Union (SACU), the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) member countries, and Morocco.

Brazilian Customs

European Union-MERCOSUR Free Trade Agreement

The MERCOSUR belongs to the Latin American Economic Area (Western-Christian Civilisation).

Samples - MERCOSUR

Mexico-MERCOSUR Free Trade Agreement (Course Master)

India-MERCOSUR Preferential Trade Agreement (Course)

MERCOSUR Concessions

Andean Community-MERCOSUR Free Trade Agreement (Course)

Egypt-MERCOSUR Free Trade Agreement (Course)

MERCOSUR-Israel Free Trade Agreement (Course Master)

Peru-MERCOSUR Free Trade Agreement (Course)

MERCOSUR Certificate of Origin


(c) EENI Global Business School
Affordable Higher Education for All
We do not use cookies
Back to top of this page