EENI Global Business School

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

Share by Twitter

Syllabus of the Subject

APEC Free-Trade Area (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation)

1- Introduction to the APEC

  1. Introduction to the APEC ©
  2. APEC Structure
  3. Bogor Goals
  4. Osaka Action Agenda
  5. Trade and Investment Liberalization
  6. Business Facilitation
  7. Economic and technical cooperation
  8. Achievements and Benefits of the APEC
  9. Free-Trade Area of the Asia-Pacific (FTAAP)
  10. PEEC

Sample - Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)
Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation APEC. Trade and Investment liberalization. Bogor Goals

2- Committee on Trade and Investment of the APEC

  1. Introduction to the APEC Committee on Trade and Investment
  2. Principles for Cross-Border Trade in Services in the APEC region
  3. Principles of foreign trade facilitation
  4. Automotive and Chemical Dialogue
  5. Business Mobility Group
  6. Investment
  7. Group on Services
  8. TRIPS
  9. E-Commerce
  10. Market Access
  11. Rules of Origin
  12. Customs Procedures
  13. Standards and Conformance
  14. Economic Impact of the Enhanced Multimodal Connectivity in the APEC Region

3- Economy, Trade, and Investment in the Asia-Pacific Region (APEC)

4- APEC Telecommunications and information.

Market Access - Trade Agreements

5- APEC Trade Agreements and Regional Trade Agreements.

  1. Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership
  2. Singapore-Australia Agreement
  3. Singapore-Korea Agreement
  4. US-Peru Agreement

The objectives of the subject “Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)” are the following:

  1. To understand the Bogor Goals and the functions of the APEC
  2. To assess the benefits for the member countries of the APEC as well the areas of cooperation
  3. To know the role of the APEC Commission on Trade and Investment
  4. To analyze the economic integration process and trade among the member countries of the APEC (Free-Trade Area of the Asia-Pacific)
  5. To understand the trade liberalization, trade facilitation and investment flows between the APEC Countries
  6. To know the Trade Agreements between the APEC Countries

Asia Masters, Doctorate (Global Business, Foreign Trade)

The Subject “APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation).” belongs to the following Online Programs taught by EENI Global Business School:

Doctorate: World Trade.

Doctorate in International Business (DIB) Online

Masters: International Business, Foreign Trade.

Masters in International Business and Foreign Trade (MIB)

Languages: Masters, Doctorate, International Business, English or Study Master Doctorate in International Business in Spanish APEC Study Doctorate in International Business in French APEC Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese APEC.

  1. Credits of the Subject “Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)”: 2 ECTS Credits
  2. Duration: two weeks

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC).

The objective of the APEC is to strengthen free and open trade and investment in the Asia-Pacific region.

The APEC has twenty-one members, representing 41% of the World population, 57% of the World's GDP and 44% of the global trade.

The member economies of the APEC are Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Chinese Taipei (Taiwan), Thailand, U.S., and Vietnam.

The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation is a forum for assisting the economic growth, cooperation, Foreign Trade, and foreign direct investment in the Asia-Pacific region.

  1. The Asia-Pacific region has consistently been the most economically dynamic region
  2. Since the beginning of the APEC in 1989, total international trade has grown 395%

The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation has three official observers Organizations:

  1. ASEAN Secretariat
  2. Pacific Economic Cooperation Council
  3. Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat

The APEC has worked to reduce tariffs and other trade barriers across the Asia-Pacific region, creating efficient national economies and considerably increasing the international trade.

The pillars of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation are the Bogor Goals of free and open foreign trade and the foreign direct investment in the Asia-Pacific region by 2010 for industrialized economies and 2020 for the developing economies. These objectives were adopted by the APEC Leaders in 1994 in Bogor (Indonesia).

The APEC focuses on three key areas (the three pillars of the APEC):

  1. Regional Trade and foreign direct investment liberalization
  2. International Business facilitation
  3. Economic and technical cooperation

The APEC is an inter-civilization agreement between the Western Civilization, Sinic - Buddhist, Orthodox and the Islamic Civilization.

Main religions in the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Forum member countries:

  1. Christian Countries: Australia, Canada, Chile, the U.S., the Philippines, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, and Russia
  2. Muslim Countries: Brunei, Indonesia, and Malaysia
  3. Buddhist Countries: Japan, Thailand, Taiwan, and Vietnam. In Singapore, 42% of the population is Buddhist

Above thirty bilateral Trade Agreements have been finished between the APEC member economies. As a result of the APEC Trade Facilitation Action Plan, the cost of international business transactions across the region was reduced by 5%.

(c) EENI Global Business School (1995-2024)
We do not use cookies
Top of this page

Knowledge leads to unity, but Ignorance to diversity