Southern African Customs Union (SACU)

EENI- School of International Business

Subject (Course): The Southern African Customs Union (SACU). Syllabus:

  1. Introduction to the Southern African Customs Union (SACU): Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa, and Swaziland
  2. Structure and Institutions of the SACU
  3. Technical Liaison Committees: Agricultural, customs, trade and industry, transport, and finance.
  4. History of the Southern African Customs Union (SACU)
  5. Economic Profile of the SACU Region
  6. The Southern African Customs Union (SACU) Agreement
  7. Trade Facilitation in the SACU region
      - Customs Development Programme
      - Revenue Management
      - Custom Policy
      - Common External Tariffs
  8. Free Trade Agreements (FTA) with other blocks
    1. India-Southern Africa Customs Union
    2. SACU-European Free Trade Association Free Trade Agreement
    3. Negotiations: Agreements with the MERCOSUR, the European Union (EU), the United States, the East African Community, and China.
  9. Policy Development and Research
  10. SACU Statistical Database
  11. COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Agreement

Free Trade Agreement European Union (EU)-Southern African Development Community (SACU). Syllabus:

  1. Introduction to the EU-Southern African Development Community Free Trade Agreement
  2. The liberalisation of international trade

The objectives of the subject “The Southern African Customs Union (SACU)” are:

  1. To understand the purposes, structure, and committees of the Southern African Customs Union (SACU), the oldest customs union in the world
  2. To assess the benefits for the member countries and areas of cooperation
  3. To learn about the Socio-economic context of the countries of Southern African region
  4. To analyse the Customs Union agreement
  5. To know trade facilitation and liberalisation programs of SACU
  6. To know SACU's Free Trade Agreements (FTA)
Subject “The Southern African Customs Union (SACU)” is studied...
  1. Doctorate in Business in Africa
  2. Professional Master's Programs (e-learning): Sub-Saharan Africa, International Business, BRICS Countries (South Africa), and Economic Relations
  3. Course: Southern Africa

Recommendations for: Batswana, Basotho, Namibian, South African and Swaziland students

Learning materials in English or French SACU Spanish SACU Portuguese SACU

Credits of the subject “Southern African Customs Union (SACU)”: 0.6 ECTS Credits

Sample of the subject - Southern African Customs Union (SACU):
Southern African Customs Union (SACU)

We Trust in Africa

Subject Description (The Southern African Customs Union -SACU-).

In 1920 was created the first Customs Union of the history: the Southern African Customs Union (SACU), formed by Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa, and Swaziland; all they are also members of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).

The Headquarters of the Southern African Customs Union are in Namibia.

The Southern African Customs Union (SACU) focuses on facilitating:

  1. Regional Integration between Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa, and Swaziland
  2. Common Customs Area
  3. Intra-regional trade among SACU members (Free movement of products, cross-border movement of goods, common external tariff, anti-dumping, countervailing and safeguard duties, fair competition, Import and Export Prohibitions and Restrictions, Technical Barriers to Trade, the Agricultural Products, and Sanitary and Phyto-Sanitary Measures)
  4. Economic diversification.
  5. Investment opportunities (FDI)
  6. Common policies and strategies (industry, trade, agriculture, competition, unfair practices, and the Common Revenue Pool)

Preferential Trade Agreement MERCOSUR-Southern African Customs Union (SACU): Not in force.

The Southern African Customs Union (SACU) belongs to the Southern African Economic Area of the African Civilisation.

Logistics in the Southern African Customs Union (SACU) region.

  1. Corridors: Beira-Lobito, Tripoli-Windhoek, Cairo-Gaborone, and Lobito Corridor
  2. The nearest ports: Port of Walvis Bay and Port of Durban

Regional Economic Communities (Trade and Market Integration):
African Regional Economic Communities

Logistics Corridors in Namibia

EFTA-Southern African Customs Union (SACU) Free Trade Agreement

U-EENI University