Online Course: Indian Ocean Commission

EENI Business School & HA University


Syllabus of the eLearning Course (Subject): Indian Ocean Commission (IOC) - Africa.

  1. Introduction to the Indian Ocean Commission (IOC): The Comoros, Reunion Island, Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles
  2. Secretariat of the Commission
  3. Regional Economic Infrastructure
  4. European Union-Indian Ocean Commission (IOC) Partnership
  5. Preferential Trade Regime of the Indian Ocean Commission
  6. Rules and certificate of origin of the Indian Ocean Commission

Sample of the e-learning Course / Subject - Indian Ocean Commission (IOC)
Indian Ocean Commission (Africa, Master)

The eLearning Course (Subject) “Indian-Ocean-Commission” is part of the following Online Higher Education Programs (Bachelors, Master of Science, Doctorates) taught by EENI Business School & HA University:
  1. Doctorate in Business in Africa
  2. eLearning Masters of Science (MSc): International Business, Foreign Trade, Sub-Saharan Africa
  3. Course: Business in East Africa
  4. Bachelor of Science in Inter-African Business

Student, Online Doctorate in International Business

Languages of study Online Higher Education in English or Study, Master in International Business in French Commission Océan Indien Study Master Doctorate Business in Spanish Comisión del Océano Índico Online Tertiary Education in Portuguese Comissão do Oceano Índico

Tweter.png Tweet 
Tell a Friend:

/ Contact / Whatsapp / / Print
Info EENI Back /

Description of the Course / Subject (Online Learning): Indian Ocean Commission (IOC).

In 1982 was created the Indian Ocean Commission (IOC), an African regional institution formed by Comoros, Reunion Island (France), Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles.

The main objective of the Indian Ocean Commission is to support sustainable growth on the Western Indian Ocean Islands through the regional integration.

The key areas of activities of the are Indian Ocean Commission (IOC) are the:

  1. Promotion of regional trade and tourism
  2. Environmental protection
  3. Cultural heritage encouragement

The headquarters of the Indian Ocean Commission (IOC) are in Mauritius. The Secretary-General manages IOC (Jean-Claude de l’Estrac). The Council of Ministers is the responsible for the political and strategic orientations.

  1. Population: 25.5 million people
  2. Area: 595,000 square kilometres
  3. Exclusive Economic Zones: 5.5 million square kilometres
  4. Budget for 2008-2017: 125 million EUR.
  5. The European Union is the main financial partner of the Indian Ocean Commission (IOC)
  6. Total projects: 44

The objective of the Regional Integration Support Programme is to encourage regional economic integration in the region. In this programme also participates the COMESA (Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa), the EAC (East African Community) and the IGAD (Intergovernmental Authority on Development).

The Preferential Trade Regime of the Indian Ocean Commission:

  1. Madagascar and Mauritius have implemented the Preferential Trade Regime of the Indian Ocean Commission
  2. Currently, customs duties for those products that meet the Rules of origin of the Indian Ocean Commission are eliminated

The Indian Ocean Commission (IOC) belongs to the East African Economic Area (African Civilisation).

(c) EENI Business School & HA University