European Central Bank

EENI Business School & HA University

Syllabus of the Subject: European Central Bank (ECB) - European Union (Course, Master).

  1. Introduction to the European Central Bank (European Union): the central bank of the world's second largest economy
  2. The European Central Bank and the Economic and Monetary Union (EMU)
  3. Eurozone
  4. Convergence Criteria
  5. Monetary stability and the European Central Bank
  6. European financial system supervision
  7. Structure of the European Central Bank
  8. Roles of the European System of Central Banks (ESCB) and the Eurosystem
  9. Independence of the European Central Bank
  10. Single Payments Area in Euros
  11. Europe 2020 strategy

The objectives of the Subject “European Central Bank (ECB)” are the following:

  1. To understand the role of the European Central Bank in the financial and monetary stability of the European Union
  2. To understand the EU Economic and Monetary Union (EMU)
  3. To study the convergence criteria of the Eurozone
  4. To understand the importance of the Eurozone
  5. To analyse the implications for the Eurozone Countries

The Subject “European Central Bank” is part of the following Online Higher Education Programs taught by EENI:
  1. Doctorates: European Business, Global Trade
  2. Masters: Business in Europe, International Business, Foreign Trade
  3. Courses: Introduction to the European Union, EU Single Market

Learning materials in Master in International Business in English or Study Master Doctorate Business in Spanish Banco Central Europeo Study, Master in International Business in French Banque centrale européenne Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese Banco Central Europeu

Credits of the Subject “European Central Bank”: 1 ECTS

Online Students, Master in International Business

Master and Doctorate in International Business for the Students from the European Union, Master Doctorate Business European Union

Example of the Online Subject - European Central Bank:
European Central Bank (ECB) Course

Tweter Tweet
Tell a Friend:

/ Contact / Whatsapp / Contact by Skype / Contact by Phone / / Print this page /

Paterson Ngatchou: EENI Academic Coordinator for Anglophone Countries
Return to the previous page Back

Description of the Subject - European Central Bank (ECB)

The nineteen countries of the European Union that have adopted the Euro as common currency are part of the European Central Bank (ECB) whose main objective is to implement a price stability policy in the Eurozone, seeking to maintain the purchasing power of the euro.

In 1999, the Eurozone and the European Central Bank were established by eleven EU countries (Germany, Austria, Belgium, Spain, Finland, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and Portugal), transferring all their monetary policy powers to the European Central Bank.

Subsequently, the euro area has been expanding:

  1. 2001: Greece
  2. 2007: Slovenia
  3. 2008: Cyprus and Malta
  4. 2009: Slovakia
  5. 2011: Estonia
  6. 2014: Latvia
  7. 2015: Lithuania

Except for Denmark and the United Kingdom (BREXIT), they have an obligation to adopt the Euro in compliance with the so-called convergence criteria of the European Union.

  1. The EU countries that have not yet adopted the Euro are Bulgaria, Croatia, Hungary, Poland, the Czech Republic, Romania and Sweden
  2. The European Central Bank is the only institution that can authorise the issuance of the euro banknote
  3. The headquarters of the European Central Bank is in Frankfurt (Germany, Europe).

All the central banks of the countries that have adopted the euro form the so-called Eurosystem. The European Central Bank (ECB) is the key institution of the European Union's Eurosystem and the Single Supervisory Mechanism (control of the EU credit institutions).

The main body of the European Central Bank is the Governing Council, made up of six members of the Executive Committee and the directors of the nineteen central banks of the Eurozone. Its main mission is to design the Eurozone monetary policy, as well as banking supervision.

(c) EENI Business School & HA University (We do not use cookies)