Pacific Alliance

EENI- School of International Business

Subject Subject (Course): The Pacific Alliance (Chile, Colombia, Mexico, and Peru). Syllabus:

  1. Introduction to the Pacific Alliance
  2. Strategic importance of the Pacific Alliance
  3. Organisational chart of the Pacific Alliance
  4. Trade and Integration in the region of the Pacific Alliance (*)
  5. Liberalisation of services and capitals (*)
  6. Integrated Latin American Market (MILA) (*)
  7. Protection of Intellectual Property (*)

(* Only available in Spanish).

The objectives of the subject of the “Pacific Alliance” are:

  1. To understand the purposes and the strategic importance of the Pacific Alliance
  2. To assess the benefits for member countries of the Pacific Alliance
  3. To analyse the process of economic and trade integration among the member countries (Chile, Colombia, Mexico, and Peru)
  4. To understand the concept of the Integrated Latin American Market


Subject “Pacific Alliance” is studied...
  1. Professional Master's Programs (e-learning): America, BRICS Countries-Mexico, Pacific, Emerging Markets, Pacific, International Business, and Economic Relations
  2. Doctorate in Business in America

Languages of study: English or Spanish Alianza Pacifico French Alliance Pacifique Portuguese Aliança Pacifico

Credits of the subject “Pacific Alliance”: 0.1 ECTS Credits

An example of the subject - The Pacific Alliance
Pacific Alliance

Description Subject Description: Pacific Alliance:

In 2011, four Latin American countries (Chile, Colombia, Mexico, and Peru) created a regional integration initiative: the Pacific Alliance.

All of them, except Colombia, are members of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC).

  1. Candidate countries to become members of the Pacific Alliance: Costa Rica and Panama.
  2. The Pacific Alliance has forty-two observer countries

The objectives of the Pacific Alliance are:

  1. To create a space of economic integration between Chile, Colombia, Mexico, and Peru, seeking progressive free movement of goods, services, capital, and persons
  2. To achieve economic growth and improve the competitiveness of their economies, seeking the welfare of the population mitigating inequality.
  3. Being a platform at the political level in the Asia-Pacific region

Countries of the Pacific Alliance:

  1. 214 millions of people
  2. GDP per capita: of 16,500 dollars
  3. Eighth world economy
  4. Eighth overall export block.
  5. 38% of Latin American GDP.
  6. 50% of Latin American foreign trade
  7. 45% of FDI inflows in Latin America and the Caribbean.

The Pacific Alliance belongs to the Western Christian Civilisation - Latin American.

U-EENI University