Specialized agencies (United Nations)

EENI - Business School.

Sub-subject: United Nations: specialized agencies. Syllabus:

  1. International Labor Organization (ILO)
  3. World Health Organization
  4. Food and agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
  5. International Civil Aviation Organization
  6. International Maritime Organization
  7. World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
  8. Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)
Sub-subject "The specialized agencies of the United Nations" is studied...
  1. Master in International Business (MIB)
  2. Master in International Economic Relations

Languages of study: En or Fr Nations Unies En Naciones Unidas

Area of knowledge: Globalization.

Sub-Subject Description - United Nations (Specialized agencies):

The autonomous organizations joined to the United Nations through special agreements:

- ILO (International Labor Organization): Formulates policies and programs to improve working conditions and employment opportunities, and sets labor standards used by countries around the world.

- FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations): Works to improve agricultural productivity and food security, and to better the living standards of rural populations.

- UNESCO (UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization): Promotes education for all, cultural development, protection of the natural and cultural heritage in the World, international cooperation in science, press freedom and communication.

- WHO (World Health Organization): Coordinates programs intended at solving health troubles and the attainment by all people of the highest possible level of health. It works in such areas as immunization, health education and the disposition of fundamental drugs.

- World Bank Group: Provides loans and technical assistance to developing countries to reduce poverty and advance sustainable economic growth.

- International Monetary Fund. Facilitates international monetary cooperation and financial stability and provides a permanent Forum for consultation, advice, and assistance on financial topics.

- ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organization): Sets International standards for the safety, security, and efficiency of air transport, and serves as the coordinator for international Cooperation in all fields of civil aviation.

- UPU (Universal Postal Union): Establishes international regulations for postal services, provides technical assistance and promotes cooperation in postal matters.

- International Telecommunication Union: Fosters International cooperation to improve telecommunications of all kinds, coordinates usage of radio and TV frequencies, promotes safety measures and conducts research.

- World Meteorological Organization: Promotes scientific research on the Earth's atmosphere and climate change, and facilitates the Global exchange of meteorological data.

- IMO (International Maritime Organization): Works to improve International shipping procedures, raise standards in marine safety, and reduce marine pollution by ships.

- WIPO (World Intellectual Property Organization): Promotes International protection of intellectual property and fosters cooperation on copyrights, trademarks, industrial designs and patents.

- IFAD (International Fund for Agricultural Development): activates financial resources to raise food production and nutrition levels among the poor in developing countries.

- UNIDO (UN Industrial Development Organization): Promotes the industrial advancement of developing countries through technical assistance, advisory services and training.

- IAEA (International Atomic Energy Agency): An autonomous intergovernmental organization under the aegis of the United Nations (UN); it works for the safe and peaceful uses of atomic energy.

Sample of the Sub-subject: United Nations: the specialized agencies:
United Nations Specialized agencies

The United Nations Commission on International Trade Law develops rules and guidelines intended to harmonize and facilitate laws regulating International Trade. The United Nations also has pioneered the development of international environmental law. Agreements like the Convention to combat desertification, the Convention on the ozone layer, and the Convention on the transborder movement of hazardous wastes are managed by the United Nations Environment program.

To increase the participation of developing countries in the global economy, the Conference on Trade and Development promotes International Trade. UNCTAD also works with the World Trade Organization), a separate entity, in assisting developing countries' exports through the International Trade Centre.

EENI Business School