Southern African Development Community

EENI- School of International Business

Subject (Course): The Southern African Development Community (SADC). Angola, Botswana. Syllabus:

  1. Introduction to the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC).
  2. The main institutions of the SADC
  3. History of the Southern African Development Community
  4. SADC Treaty (1992)
  5. Economic Profile of the SADC Region
  6. Strategic Plans (SADC)
  7. Economic Development
  8. Trade in the SADC region
      - Trade Liberalisation
      - Customs and Trade Facilitation
      - Competition Policy
      - Non-Tariff Barrier
      - Trade in Services
      - SADC Trade Development Programme
  9. Regional Indicative Strategic Development Plan
  10. Directorate of Trade, Industry, Finance, and Investment
  11. Integration process in the Southern African Development Community
      - Free Trade Area (2008)
      - Customs Union (2010)
      - Common Market (2015)
      - Monetary Union (2016)
      - Single Currency (2018)
  12. Regional Economic Integration Support Programme
  13. Infrastructure and Services in the SADC region
      - Transport in the Southern African Development Community Region
      - Maritime, ports, and inland waterways
      - Corridors in the SADC region: Maputo Development Corridor, North-South, Dar es Salaam Corridor, Beira, and Nacala Multimodal Corridor
      - Information and communication technologies (ICT) and Telecommunications
      - Tourism
      - Food, agriculture, and natural resources
      - Southern Africa Trade Hub
  14. Free Trade Agreements:
    - Southern African Development Community-European Union economic partnership agreement.
    - Agreement with the European Free Trade Association (EFTA).
    - Preferential Trade Agreement with the MERCOSUR
    - COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite

The objectives of the subject “Southern African Development Community (SADC)” are the following:

  1. To understand the aims and affiliated institutions of the Southern African Development Community (SADC)
  2. To assess the benefits for SADC's member countries and the areas of cooperation
  3. To analyse the process of economic integration: Free Trade Area, Customs Union, Common Market, Economic and Monetary Union, and the Single Currency of the SADC
  4. To analyse intra-SADC trade
  5. To know the Regional Indicative Strategic Development Plan
  6. To explore SADC's Free Trade Agreements (FTA)
Subject “The Southern African Development Community (SADC)” is studied…
  1. Doctorate in Business in Africa
  2. Masters (e-learning): Sub-Saharan Africa, International Business, BRICS Countries (South Africa), Economic Relations, and Frontier Markets
  3. Courses: Central Africa, Eastern Africa and Southern Africa

Learning materials in En or Fr SADC Es SADC Pt SADC

  1. Credits of the subject “The Southern African Development Community (SADC)”: 1.1 ECTS / 0.5 AC Credits
  2. Duration: one week

Sample of the subject (Southern African Development Community - SADC-):
SADC Customs Union

We Trust in Africa

Subject Description (The Southern African Development Community SADC).

The members of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) are Angola, Botswana, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

  1. The Southern African Development Community (SADC) headquarters are in Gaborone (Botswana). The SADC was formed in 1992.
  2. The Southern African Development Community Customs Union has not yet been established.
  3. Only five Member States have signed the Southern African Customs Union: Botswana, South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, and Swaziland.

The objectives of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) are to:

  1. Reach development and economic growth in Southern Africa region
  2. Alleviate poverty
  3. Improve the standard and quality of life of Southern African people
  4. Support the socially disadvantaged through the regional integration of trade.

The economy of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) region:

  1. SADC Total Population: 277 millions of people
  2. The economic growth in the Southern African development community region remained robust in last years.
  3. The economic growth averaged: 5.4%
  4. Service sectors: 50% of SADC's GDP.
  5. Industry: 32%.
  6. Total imports: 91,608 million dollars.
  7. Total exports: 89,151 million dollars
  8. Top intra-SADC trade export products: petroleum, agricultural goods, electricity, and textile
  9. The main markets of SADC products: APEC (45%), the European Union (27%), Intra-SADC (10%), and other African countries (3%).
  10. Some economies of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) region benefited from international trade gains resulting from the wave in commodity prices
  11. The Southern African Customs Union (SACU): Republic of South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, and Swaziland.
  12. The Southern African Development Community region has been affected by the reduction in international and cross-border financial flows (global crisis) and falling real economic growth and foreign trade flows

All SADC countries are predominantly Christian.

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) belongs to the African Civilisation.

  1. Southern African Economic Area
  2. East African Economic Area
  3. Central African Economic Area

SADC Common Market

Trans-African corridors in the SADC region:

  1. Lobito Corridor
  2. Tripoli-Windhoek Corridor
  3. Cairo-Gaborone Corridor
  4. Beira-Lobito Corridor
  5. Lagos-Mombasa
  6. North-South Corridor

The largest ports in the SADC region: Durban, Luanda, Maputo, Walvis Bay, Dar Es Salaam

Samples - SADC

SADC Free Trade Area

SADC Transport


SADC Certificate of Origin

Logistics Corridors in Namibia

SADC-European Union

SADC Certificate of Origin

Tripoli-Windhoek Corridor

U-EENI University