History of Africa (12th - 16th Century)

EENI- School of International Business

Sub-subject: Africa from the 12th to the 16th Century CE (Volume IV of the General History of Africa of the UNESCO). Syllabus:

  1. Director of Volume IV (Africa from the 12th to the 16th Century CE): Djibril Tamsir Niane (Guinea)
  2. Africans Kingdoms and Empires: the Almohads, the Songhay, the Empire of Mali (Sunjata), the Empire of Ghana, the Kingdom of Congo, the Zimbabwe, the Monomotapa, the Kanem-Bornu, the Kingdoms Mosi, and Dagomba
  3. Cauri (Cowry) as currency of the Sudanese Kingdoms
  4. Tran-Saharan trade (Oro, Ivory, and Slaves)
  5. Christianisation of Ethiopia. Libela (Ethiopia)
  6. Expansion of the Islam in Sub-Saharan Africa
  7. Swahili Civilisation
  8. Egypt: Muslim cultural centre
  9. Portuguese and Africa
The sub-subject “Africa from the 12th to the 16th century CE (UNESCO)” is studied...
  1. Master in Business in Africa (e-learning)
  2. Doctorates: Africa, Muslim Markets

Languages of study English or French Histoire Afrique XII-XVI Portuguese Africa XII-XVI Spanish Africa XII-XVI

Sample of the sub-subject: Africa from the 12th to the 16th Century CE (General History of Africa of the UNESCO)
History of Africa 12th - 16th Century
Source: UNESCO (General History of Africa) - African Civilisation.

We Trust in Africa

Description of the Sub-Subject: Ancient Civilisations of Africa

Topics discussed (Africa from the 12th to the 16th Century).

  1. Unification of the Maghreb under the Almohads
  2. The Maghrebian Civilisation
  3. Empire of Mali and the second expansion of Mandinga people
  4. Songhay
  5. Kingdoms of the Basin of the Volta and the Niger
  6. Kingdoms Chadians
  7. Hausa
  8. Contacts with Portuguese
  9. Egypt and the Muslim World
  10. Nubia. The Funj.
  11. The States of the Horn of Africa
  12. Solomonids (Ethiopia)
  13. Swahili Civilisation
  14. Region of the great lakes
  15. Basins of the Limpopo and the Zambezi
  16. Equatorial Africa
  17. Madagascar

Authors of Volume IV of the General History of Africa of the UNESCO (Africa from the 12th to the 16th Century CE): H. R.IDRIS, 0. SAIDI, D. The NGE, M.TALBI, L. KROPACEK, I. HRBEK, S. TAMRAT, J. DEVISSE, S. M. CISSOKO, M. IZARD, J.-C. GARCIN, and. PERSON, M. ADAMU, S. MATVEIEV, C. EHRET, J. VANSINA, Bethwell Allan Ogot, M. FAGAN, L. NGCONGCO, F. ESOAVELOMANDROSO...

U-EENI University