G5 Sahel (Fight against terrorism)

EENI- School of International Business

Sub-subject - G5 Sahel: Burkina Faso, Chad, Mali, Mauritania and Niger. Syllabus:

  1. Introduction to the G5 Sahel: Burkina Faso, Chad, Mali, Mauritania and Niger (África).
  2. Threat of jihadist terrorism in the Sahel (Al-Qaeda in the Islamic Maghreb, Movement for the Unity of Jihad in West Africa (MUJAO) - Al Mourabitoune, Boko Haram).
  3. Objectives of the G5 Sahel: Fight against jihadist terrorism
  4. Pilot scheme of the G5 Sahel
    1. Conference of Heads of State
    2. Minister Council
    3. Permanent Secretariat of the G5 Sahel
  5. Partnerships of the G5 Sahel with France, the EU, Japan, the United Nations
Sub-subject « G5 Sahel» is studied...
  1. Courses: West Africa, Central Africa, Maghreb
  2. Masters: Africa, Islamic Markets
  3. Doctorates (e-learning): Africa, Islamic Countries
  4. Degree in Inter-African Business

Learning materials in English or Spanish G5 Sahel French G5 Sahel Portuguese G5 Sahel.

Opening of the U-EENI University in Africa

Sample of the sub-subject - G5 Sahel:
G5 Sahel- Fight against jihadist terrorism

We Trust in Africa

Description of the Sub-Subject - G5 Sahel: Burkina Faso, Chad, Mali, Mauritania and Niger

The main objective of the G-5 Sahel is to ensure security in the Sahel, in particular to deal with the threat of jihadist terrorism (Al-Qaeda in the Islamic Maghreb, The Movement for Unity and Jihad in West Africa ) - Al Mourabitoune, Boko Haram).

The G5-Sahel is of vital importance to ensure security and end the jihadist threat in the Sahel.

  1. The G5-Sahel member countries are Burkina Faso, Chad, Mali, Mauritania and Niger
  2. The G-5 Sahel was created in February 2014
  3. The headquarters of the G-5 Sahel: Mauritania
  4. Except for Mauritania, all the countries of the G-5 Sahel do not have access to the sea (landlocked countries)
  5. Arabic and French are the main languages of the G-5 Sahel region

The G-5 Sahel seeks to improve the living conditions of people in Burkina Faso, Chad, Mali, Mauritania and Niger, as well as to promote democracy and good governance in the Sahel.

The G5 Sahel has programs for the development of transport infrastructures, energy, hydraulics, telecommunications or food security.

The Sahel G5 focuses on transboundary, landlocked, low human density or weak state presence.

The African regional economic communities related to the countries of the G5 Sahel:

  1. Burkina Faso, Chad, Mali, Mauritania and Niger belong to the Community of Sahel-Saharan States (CEN-SAD) and the Trade Preferential System among the Member States of the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (TPS-OIC)
  2. All the G5 Sahel countries except Mauritania belong to:
    1. Niger Basin Authority
    2. Organisation for the Harmonisation of Business Law in Africa (OHADA)
  3. Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger belong to:
    1. Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)
    2. West African Economic and Monetary Union (WAEMU)
  4. Chad belongs to:
    1. Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS)
    2. Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa (CEMAC)
  5. Mauritania belongs to the Arab Maghreb Union (AMU)

Logistics related to the G5 Sahel countries:

  1. Trans-Sahelian Highway
  2. Dakar-Lagos Corridor
  3. Cairo-Dakar Corridor
  4. Algiers-Lagos Corridor
  5. Lagos-Mombasa Corridor
  6. Tripoli-Windhoek
  7. N’Djamena-Djibouti Corridor
  8. Nearest port of Burkina Faso is the Port of Abidjan
  9. Nearest port of Chad is the Port of Douala
  10. The most used port to access to the Malian market is the Port of Dakar and Port of Cotonou to access to Niger

The main religion in the Sahel G5 region is Islam:

  1. Virtually the entire population of Mali, Mauritania and Niger is Muslim
  2. In Chad Islam represents 44% of the Chadian population and Christianity 33%
  3. In Burkina Faso, 60% of the population is Muslim
  4. In Chad and Burkina Faso, the influence of animism is very important

The Sahel G5 countries belong to three economic spaces of the African Civilisation:

  1. Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger belong to the West African Economic Area
  2. Mauritania to the Maghrebian Economic Area
  3. Chad to the Central African Economic Area

U-EENI University Catalonia is Spain