EENI Global Business School
Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA)

Syllabus of the Subject: United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)

  1. Introduction to the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA/ECA)
  2. Vision: “Putting Africa First” of the Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA)
  3. ECA Macroeconomics Policy
  4. Economic Report on Africa
  5. African Statistical Yearbook
  6. Regional Integration and Trade
    1. Industrialisation and infrastructure
    2. Investment policy
    3. Food security, agriculture, and land
    4. African Trade Policy Centre
    5. Trade Facilitation from an African perspective
    6. Observatory on the Regional Integration in Africa
    7. Assessing regional integration in Africa
    8. Action Plan for Boosting Intra-Africa Trade
    9. Building Trade Capacities for the African Transformation
    10. Frontier Markets in Africa
    11. Africa-BRICS Cooperation
    12. African Road Safety Action Plan
  7. Social Development and the Economic Commission for Africa
    1. Post 2015 Development Agenda
  8. Natural Resources
    1. Committee Food Security and Sustainable Development
  9. Innovation and Technology.
    1. Information and communication technologies (ICT) for Regional Trade in Africa
  10. Gender
    1. African Centre for Gender
    2. African Women's Report
  11. Governance and the Economic Commission for Africa
    1. Combating Corruption
    2. Improving the Governance in Africa
  12. Subregional Offices of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa
    1. Central Africa
    2. East Africa
    3. North Africa
    4. Southern Africa
    5. West Africa
  13. African Centre for Statistics
  14. African Institute for Economic Development and Planning
  15. Procurement Unit: Doing Business with the Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA)

The objectives of the subject “Economic Commission for Africa of the United Nations (ECA)” are the following:

  1. To understand the aims (regional integration, African development), structure and functions of the Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)
  2. To analyse the Committee of Macroeconomics Policy of the Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA)
  3. To know the Economic Report on Africa
  4. To analyse the role and the areas of cooperation of the Division of Trade and Regional Integration
  5. To examine the social development, natural resources, innovation and technology, gender and management programs of the Economic Commission of the United Nations for Africa (ECA)
  6. To analyse the role of the Commission in relation to the Regional Economic Communities (RECs)
  7. To understand the functioning of the Procurement Services Unit of the Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA)

Sample - Economic Commission for Africa (ECA):
United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)

The Subject “Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)” belongs to the following Online Higher Educational Programs taught by EENI Global Business School:
  1. Doctorates: African Business, World Trade
  2. Masters: Business in Africa, International Business, Foreign Trade, Economic Relations
  3. Course: African Institutions

African Student, Online Master International Business

Learning materials in Courses, Masters, Doctorates in International Business in English or Study, Master in International Business in French Commission économique pour l’Afrique Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese Comissão Económica para a África Study Master Doctorate Business in Spanish Comisión Económica para África

  1. Credits of the Subject “Economic Commission for Africa”: 1 ECTS Credits
  2. Duration: one week

Master/ Course: African Trade Policy Centre

Tweter Tweet
Tell a Friend:

/ Contact / Whatsapp / Contact by Skype / Contact by Phone / / Print this page /

Return to the previous page Back
  1. This subject is an introductory course about UNECA (Objectives, Departments, and Publications), the subject “African Economic Integration” is analysed in another module
  2. Along this study; we will introduce several UNECA reports related to the African regions (Central Africa, East Africa, North Africa, Southern Africa and West Africa), the analysis of each report will be made in the module of the region

Related topics:

  1. African Economic Transformation
  2. African Continental Free-Trade Area
  3. African Value Chains

EENI African Portal

We Trust in Africa (EENI African Portal)

Master/ Course: African Gender Development Index

Description: Economic Commission for Africa (ECA).

In 1958 was created the Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) by the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations

The objectives of the Economic Commission for Africa are to:

  1. Promote the economic and social development of the African Countries
  2. Improve the intra-regional integration
  3. Promote the International Cooperation for the African development

The Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) identifies the importance of focusing on special needs of Africa (Millennium Development Goals).

The Members Countries of the Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) are Algeria, Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Botswana, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Comoros, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Egypt, Eritrea, Eswatini (Swaziland), Ethiopia, Gambia, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Togo, Tunisia, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

The Economic Commission for Africa focuses on eradicating African poverty, placing the African Countries on the path of the economic growth and sustainable development, reversing the marginalisation of the African economies in the Globalisation age, and accelerating Women's Empowerment.

The aim of the Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) is to supply technical assistance to the African Peer Review Mechanism and to promote the knowledge.

The Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) focuses on:

  1. Regional Integration, international trade, and infrastructure
  2. Meeting the Millennium Development Goals (Poverty Reduction and Growth, Sustainable Development, and Gender)
  3. Promoting the Good Governance and popular participation
  4. Information and communication technologies (ICT), Science, and Technology for development
  5. statistics

Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA, Master)

The Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) belongs to the African Civilisation.

The Economic Commission for Africa is one of the five regional commissions of the United Nations. The other regional commissions are:

  1. Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE)
  2. Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)
  3. Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)
  4. Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia

(c) EENI Global Business School (1995-2021)
Due to the COVID Pandemic, EENI has implemented teleworking. Please only contact by email, WhatsApp or through the information request form
We do not use cookies
Back to top of this page