East African Community (EAC)

EENI- School of International Business

Subject: The East African Community (EAC): Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, and Burundi. Syllabus:

  1. Introduction to the East African Community (EAC)
  2. Customs, Market and Economic Union of the East African Community
  3. Organs of the EAC Community
  4. Economy and Foreign Trade in the EAC Markets
  5. Investing in the EAC markets
  6. The Business Climate Index of the EAC markets
  7. Developing Strategic Partnerships of the East African Community
  8. EAC Trade Agreements:
    1. COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Agreement
    2. East African Community-US Trade and Investment Partnership Agreement
  9. East African Court of Justice
  10. The EAC Customs Union
  11. The EAC Common Market
    1. Customs administration
    2. Trade liberalisation
    3. Trade-Related Aspects
    4. Export promotion schemes
    5. Special economic zones
    6. Exemption regimes
    7. General provisions
  12. The East African Community Common External Tariff
  13. East African Development Bank

The objectives of the subject “The East African Community (EAC)” are the following:

  1. To understand the goals and functions of the East African Community (EAC)
  2. To evaluate the benefits for the member countries and the areas of cooperation within the East African Community
  3. To analyse the process of economic integration (customs union and common market) and foreign trade among the East African Community (EAC) member countries
  4. To know the role of the East African Development Bank
The subject “The East African Community (EAC)” is studied...
  1. Doctorate in Business in Africa
  2. Courses: Central Africa and Eastern Africa
  3. Masters (e-learning): Sub-Saharan Africa, Emerging Markets, Economic Relations, and Global Business

Languages of study English or French Communauté Est Africaine Portuguese EAC Spanish EAC Africa

Credits of the subject “East African Community (EAC)”: 0.5 ECTS Credits

Sample of the subject - East African Community (EAC):
East African Community (EAC)

We Trust in Africa

Description of the Subject (East African Community).

The East African Community (EAC) is an African Trade Bloc formed by Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, and Burundi.

South Sudan is negotiating the access to the East African Community.

The objective of the East African Community (EAC) is to develop economic links and improve trade relations between Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, and Burundi.

In 2005, the East African Community (EAC) established the Customs Union; the next step was the foundation of a Common Market (2010) and finally the Monetary Union.

  1. The East African Community headquarters are in Arusha (Tanzania)
  2. The total population of the EAC region: 135 millions of people
  3. The total area: 1,82 million square kilometres
  4. Combined gross domestic product of EAC countries: 84.7 billion dollars
  5. All these countries have Christian majorities

In 1967 was created the East African Development Bank. The East African Development Bank is owned by Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, and Rwanda. Other shareholders include the African Development Bank, the Netherlands Development Finance Company, and the German Investment and development company.

Bethwell Ogot was a member of the Legislative Assembly of the East African Community.

The East African Community (EAC) belongs to the African Civilisation.

  1. East African Economic Area
  2. Central African Economic Area

East African Community (EAC) Customs Union:
East African Community (EAC) Customs Union

Trans-African corridors in the EAC region:

  1. Northern Corridor
  2. Cairo-Gaborone
  3. Lagos-Mombasa Corridor
  4. North-South Corridor

The largest ports in the East African Community region:

  1. Port of Mombasa
  2. Port of Dar Es Salaam

Samples - East African Community

Rwanda International Trade

African Northern Corridor

East African Development Bank

COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Agreement

East African Rules Origin

United States-East African Community Agreement

Cairo-Gaborone Corridor (Trans-African Highway)

Reginald Mengi - Director of the East African Business Council
Reginald Mengi Tanzanian Businessman

Indian Ocean Commission.

U-EENI University