Colombia-EFTA Free Trade Agreement

EENI Business School & HA University


Syllabus of the Subject: Colombia-EFTA (European Free Trade Association) Free Trade Agreement

  1. Introduction to the European Free Trade Association-Colombia Free Trade Agreement (FTA)
  2. Benefits of the Colombia-EFTA Agreement
  3. Calculation of import duties
  4. Certificate of Origin
  5. International Trade between the EFTA States (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland) and Colombia
The Subject (e-learning) “Colombia-European Free Trade Association Free Trade Agreement (FTA)” is part of the following Higher Education Programs (Degrees, Masters, Doctorates) taught by EENI (Business School) and the Hispano-African University of International Business:
  1. Bachelor's Degree in International Trade (e-learning)
  2. Doctorates (distance learning): America, Europe
  3. Masters (e-learning): International Business, Foreign Trade, Pacific, America, Emerging Markets, Europe
  4. Course: EFTA States, Andean Markets

Languages of study Higher Education in English or Tertiary Education in Spanish Colombia-AELC Post-secondary Education in French Colombie Study in Portuguese Colombia

Henry Acuña Barrantes, Colombia (Professor, HA University) Henry Acuña Barrantes (EENI & HA University Professor in Colombia)

Sample of the Subject: Colombia-European Free Trade Association (FTA)
Colombia-EFTA Free Trade Agreement (Course)

Description of the Subject (Higher Education, e-learning): European Free Trade Association (EFTA)-Colombia Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

The agreement between Colombia and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) entered into force for the Republic of Colombia, Liechtenstein, and Switzerland in 2011.

The Colombia-European Free Trade Association (EFTA) Free Trade Agreement covers:

  1. International trade in goods (agriculture and industrial goods)
  2. Foreign Direct Investment (FDI)
  3. Trade in services
  4. Intellectual Property Rights
  5. Government Procurement
  6. Competition and
  7. Cooperation

Bilateral agreements on agricultural products between the European Free Trade Association States and Colombia also form part of the instruments for establishing the free-trade area between the Republic of Colombia and the European Free Trade Association (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland).

The objectives of the Colombia-EFTA Free Trade Agreement (FTA) are to:

  1. Reach the Foreign Trade Liberalisation in products
  2. Achieve the Foreign Trade Liberalisation in services
  3. Substantially increase the foreign direct investment (FDI) opportunities in the free-trade area
  4. Achieve the liberalisation on a mutual basis of the Government procurement markets
  5. Promote competition in their economies
  6. Guarantee an adequate and efficient protection of the intellectual property rights
  7. Contribute, by the removal of the foreign trade barriers and foreign direct investment (FDI), to the development and growth of the world trade; and
  8. Guarantee the cooperation related to the trade capacity building, to expand and improve the benefits of this agreement, especially for small and medium-sized companies

The Free Trade Agreement between Colombia and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) consists of 145 Articles and 20 Annexes covering:

  1. Trade in products and services
  2. Foreign direct investment (FDI)
  3. Intellectual Property Rights
  4. Government Procurement
  5. Competition
  6. Cooperation
  7. Administration and Dispute Settlement

Foreign Trade between the EFTA States and Colombia.

  1. International Trade between the European Free Trade Association and the Republic of Colombia was USD 525 million, and between the European Free Trade Association and Peru: 392 million dollars
  2. The European Free Trade Association top imports from the Republic of Colombia were precious stones and metals, coffee, tea, spices, fruits, and nuts

Agreement Colombia-EFTA

Colombia and the EFTA States are members of the Western Christian Civilisation (Latin American-European).

Colombia Free Trade Agreements (FTA).

(c) EENI- Business School & Hispano-African University of International Business