Ten Commandments (pillars of Christian Ethics)

EENI- School of International Business

Sub-subject Sub-subject: Ten Commandments: fundaments of Christian Ethics. Syllabus:

  1. Principles of Christian Ethics
  2. Ten Commandments (Sermon on the Mount)
  3. Non-violence (Ahimsa), one of the pillars of Christianity


Sub-subject “Ten Commandments: Christian Ethics” is studied...
  1. Doctorate Religion and Business (e-learning)

Learning materials in English or Spanish Cristianismo Ética French Christianisme

Sample of the Sub-subject: fundaments of Christian Ethics
Christian Ethics Non-violence

Description Sub-Subject Description: Christian Ethics.

To end the war through the word and search for peacekeeping with peace and not with war is a higher glory that to kill men with the sword.” Epistle 229

The pillars of the Christian Ethics can be found in the Ten Commandments, considered as a divine law, and Sermon on the Mount.

Jesus said that was not enough to believe. Also, it was necessary to fulfil these Ten Commandments:

  1. You shall love God above all things.
  2. You will not take the name of God in vain.
  3. Sanctify the holidays.
  4. Honour your father and your mother.
  5. Do not kill, do not murder. Principle of non-violence (Ahimsa)
  6. You shall not commit impure acts
  7. You shall not steal.
  8. Do not give false testimony
  9. Not suffer impure thoughts or desires
  10. Do not covet

Ahimsa Business

Not fulfil these commandments considered a grave sin. We could summarise the essence of these commandments as:

“Love God above all things and love your neighbour as yourself.”

As we can see; it is a version of the golden rule.

These Ten Commandments are the pillars of Christian Ethics.

The first three are virtually exclusive to the religions of the book or even to Sikhs, but the remaining seven are ethical principles shared with other higher religions, although not explicitly mentioned in each one of them.

This fundamental universal principle is “You shall not kill” is shared by all faiths, although as discussed in other religions it is possible extends to all animals and even plants (Jainism). In our project of global ethics, Ahimsa or non-violence is one of the two fundamental principles.

In Christianity, “do not kill” involves the prohibition of murder, euthanasia, suicide, or the abortion. The “not to kill” prohibit all forms of violence. The war is forbidden.

“He shall judge between the nations, and impose terms on many peoples.
They shall beat their swords into plowshares, and their spears into pruning hooks;
One nation shall not raise the sword against another, nor shall they train for war again.” Canticle of Isaiah (2:2-5).

Christianity is a religion based on love, God is the owner of Human life, so the man cannot destroy God's work; it would be a sin.

Commandments related to Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Zoroastrianism, and Sikhism.

  1. You shall love God above all else.
  2. You will not take the name of God in vain.
  3. Sanctify the holidays.

Seven Christians commandments shared with all religions (Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Confucianism, and Jainism)

  1. Honour your father and your mother.
  2. Do not kill (Ahimsa).
  3. You shall not commit impure acts
  4. Do not steal.
  5. Do not give false testimony.
  6. Not suffer impure thoughts or desires.
  7. Do not covet.

Ahimsa Catholic

Caritas is the institution of love of the Catholic Church” Pope Francis.

Religions and International Business

U-EENI University