China: geography, population, languages, religion, civilization


Learning unit: Introduction to China. Syllabus:

- History of China.
- About China: geography, population, languages, religion...

The People's Republic of China is the 3th biggest nation in the world (9,600,000 Km²)

The People's Republic of China is a nation with a very early civilization and a long history. The ancient Chinese has invented: the compass, gunpowder, the art of paper-making or block printing. The Great Wall or the Grand Canal built by the Chinese people are regarded as engineering achievement of all the times.

Learning unit summary Introduction to China:

The People's Republic of China is divided into provinces, autonomous regions and municipalities. A province or an autonomous region is subdivided into autonomous prefectures, counties, autonomous counties and /or cities. A county or an autonomous county is subdivided into townships, ethnic townships and/or towns.

In 2011, Total population in the mainland of the People's Republic of China (PRC) amounted to 1,347,350,000. The natural growth rate of population was - 0.1 per thousand in Beijing and it was - 1.35 per thousand in Shanghai.

The People's Republic of China is a tied multi-ethnic nation (56 ethnic Groups). The majority ethnic group in China is the Han (91.6%). The 55 ethnic Groups of the People's Republic of China are referred to as ethnic minorities.

Main religions:

Borders of China: Mongolia, Russia, North Korea, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar, Bhutan, Nepal, India, Afghanistan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, South Korea and Macau.

Master International Business Chinese students

Taoism Wu Wei

This learning unit "China: geography, population, languages" is part of the:

Learning materials En or Es China Fr China Pt China

Confucian Ethics
Confucian Ethics

Chinese economy - China ports - Customs of China - FDI China - Beijing - Shanghai - Pearl River Delta - Guangzhou - Shenzhen - Hong Kong.


(c) EENI- Business School (1995-2015)
EENI Business School