EENI Global Business School.

Central American Economy

Share by Twitter

Syllabus of the Subject: Economy and Foreign Trade of Central America. Panama, Guatemala.

  1. Introduction to the Central American region: Guatemala, Belize, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama;
  2. Central American Economy;
  3. International Trade (Import, Export) of Central America;
  4. Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) in Central America;
  5. Central American Integration System (SICA).

The objectives of the subject “Economy of Central America” are the following:

  1. To know the economic profile of the Central American Countries;
  2. To analyze the strengths and trends of the Central American Economy;
  3. To evaluate the Central American foreign trade and the foreign direct investment flows;
  4. To understand the role of the Central American Integration System in the region.

“Central American Economy”
Central American Economy (Guatemala, Honduras, Costa Rica, Panama, El Salvador, Nicaragua)

Online Education (Courses, Masters, Doctorate): Trade and Business in Central America

Online Continuing education (Courses, Certificates, Diplomas

The Subject “Central American Economy and International Trade” belongs to the following Online Higher Educational Programs taught by EENI Global Business School:

Masters (MIB): Business in America, International Business, Foreign Trade.

Masters in International Business and Foreign Trade (MIB) - Online Education

Doctorate (DIB): American Business, World Trade.

Professional Doctorate in International Business (DIB). Online Education

Course: Business in Central America.

Learning materials in Courses, Masters, Doctorate in International Business and Foreign Trade in English or Study Master Doctorate in International Business in Spanish America Central Study, Course Master Doctorate in International Business in French Amerique Centrale Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese América Central.

  1. Credits of the Subject “Central American Economy”: 1 ECTS Credits;
  2. Duration: one week.

Central American Integration System (Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama)

Economy and Foreign Trade of Central America.

The Central American region consists of Guatemala, Belize, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama.

Owing to the recent political and economic integration in Central America (Central American Common Market, Central American Integration System (SICA), CARICOM) in this analysis we include the Dominican Republic, geographically linked to the Caribbean, but economically linked to Central America.

All these countries belong to the Latin American Economic Area of the Western Civilization.

The Central American Economy (the sum of the economies of all the countries in the region), represents the sixth largest economy in Latin America (after Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Colombia, and Peru).

Foreign Trade in goods between the Central America markets and the rest of the world has been developed positively in the recent years.

  1. The United States is the main trading partner of Central America (31.6% of the total exports of the region and the 33.4% of the total imports);
  2. Four export products (coffee, bananas, integrated circuits, and parts for machines) stand for 25.1% of the total exports to the world;
  3. The largest importer from Central American countries are the United States and South America (Brazil, the Republic of Colombia, Venezuela, and Argentina);
  4. The Central American Common Market (MCCA) is the second-largest trading partner of the Central American Countries (29.4% of the exports and 12.7% of imports).

The Central American region has a population of 41,739 million people, and an area of 522,760 square kilometers (1% of the World area).

Country (Capital) - Population (in million)
- Belize, Masters, Doctorate, Courses, International Business, Foreign Trade Belize (Belmopan): 322,100
- Costa Rica (San Jose): 4,579
- El Salvador (San Salvador): 7,185,218
- Guatemala (Guatemala City): 14,027
- Honduras (Tegucigalpa): 7,466
- Nicaragua (Managua) 5,743
- Panama (Panama City): 3,454

Market Access - Free Trade Agreements (FTA). Online Education (Courses, Masters, Doctorate)

Salvadorian Free Trade Agreements: Central American Integration System, Taiwan, United States, Central America (Mexico, European Union, Colombia, Panama, Chile), Association of Caribbean States...

Nicaraguan Free Trade Agreements: Central American Integration System, Taiwan, Mexico, Central America (United States, Panama, European Union, Dominican Republic, Chile), Association of Caribbean States...

Honduran Free Trade Agreements (FTA): Taiwan, Mexico, Colombia, Canada, SELA...

Central American Common Market: Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Costa Rica

(c) EENI Global Business School (1995-2022)
We do not use cookies
Top of this page