CARICOM Caribbean Community

EENI- School of International Business

Subject (Course): The Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM). CARIFORUM. Syllabus:

  1. Introduction to the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).
  2. Economic Profile of the Caribbean countries.
  3. Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States.
  4. CARICOM Single Market and Economy.
  5. International Trade Policy of the Caribbean Community.
  6. The Caribbean Development Bank.
  7. CARICOM's International Trade Relations.
  8. Economic Partnership Agreement CARIFORUM-European Union (EU)
  9. International Trade with Canada and the United States.
  10. Agreement Colombia-CARICOM
  11. Caribbean Community-Costa Rica agreement
  12. CARICOM-Dominican Republic Free Trade Agreement (FTA)
  13. Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS)

The objectives of the subject “Caribbean Community (CARICOM)” are the following:

  1. To understand the aims and trade policy of the CARICOM
  2. To analyse the economic profile of the Caribbean countries
  3. To evaluate the benefits for CARICOM member countries
  4. To analyse the process of economic integration (single market and economy of the Caribbean) and foreign trade among the Caribbean Community member countries
  5. To know the affiliated institutions: the Caribbean Development Bank and the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS)
  6. To identify CARICOM's Free Trade Agreements
Subject “The Caribbean Community” is studied...
  1. Masters (e-learning): International Business, America
  2. Doctorate in Business in America

Master International Business Caribbean students

Languages of study: English or Spanish CARICOM French CARICOM

  1. Credits of the subject “CARICOM”: 1 ECTS Credits
  2. Duration: one week

Sample of the subject - Caribbean Community and Common Market:
Caribbean Community (CARICOM)

Subject Description (Caribbean Community and Common market).

The main objective of the Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM) is to enforce economic integration of the Caribbean economies (America) by the creation of a common market regime and the coordination of the foreign policies of member countries.

The Caribbean Community and Common Market Member States are Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, Saint Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, and Trinidad and Tobago.

The CARICOM associate members are Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands.

CARICOM Single Market and Economy.

  1. CARICOM Single Market and Economy is planned to benefit the population of the Caribbean region by providing more opportunities to produce and trade products and services and to attract foreign direct investment.
  2. CARICOM Single Market and Economy will create one large market among the participating member economies.

The Caribbean Development Bank is a regional financial development institution established in 1969 by an Agreement signed by eighteen countries and territories, including all the ten Caribbean Free Trade Association member economies, Belize (then British Honduras), and the Bahamas.

Caribbean Development Bank

The Eastern Caribbean Central Bank is the Monetary Authority for the Eastern Caribbean countries of Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

The CARIFORUM Economic Partnership Agreement

The Economic Partnership Agreement was signed in 2008 by the European Union: Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, the Dominican Republic, Grenada, Jamaica, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, and Guyana. Haiti signed in 2009.

The CARICOM belongs to the Christian Civilisation (Caribbean Economic Area).

Samples - CARICOM

Costa Rica-CARICOM Free Trade Agreement

European Union-CARICOM Free Trade Agreement

Economic Partnership Agreement CARIFORUM-European Union

CARICOM-Colombia Free Trade Agreement

Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS)

CARICOM Single Market

Caribbean Basin

U-EENI University