EENI Global Business School
Principles of the Buddhist Ethics

Syllabus of the Subject: Principles of the Buddhist Ethics. Four Noble Truths. Noble Eightfold Path

  1. Principles of the Buddhist Ethics
  2. Four Noble Truths
  3. Noble Eightfold Path of Buddhism
  4. Buddhist Golden Rule
The Subject “Principles of the Buddhist Ethicsbelongs to the following Online Higher Education Programs taught by EENI Global Business School:
  1. Courses: Buddhism, Ethics and Business, Southeast Asia, China
  2. Doctorates: Ethics, Religion & Business, Asian Business
  3. Masters: International Business, Religions & Business, Asia

E-learning Course, Online Asian Student, University

EENI Online Masters and Doctorates in International Business for the Students from Cambodia, Master Doctorate Business Cambodia, Laos Online Master / Doctorate in Business Laos, Myanmar Online Master / Doctorate in Business Myanmar, Singapore, Master Doctorate Business Singapore, Thailand, Master Doctorate Business Thailand, Vietnam, Master Doctorate Business Vietnam, Bhutan, Master Doctorate Business Bhutan, Nepal, Online Master / Doctorate Nepal, and Sri Lanka, Master Doctorate Business Sri Lanka.

Why study “Buddhism, Ethics and Business”?

Learning materials in Master in International Business in English or Study Master Doctorate Business in Spanish Ética Budista Study, Master in International Business in French Bouddhisme Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese Budismo

Mahayana and theravada, Buddhism in the World, Buddhist Economics

Sample of the Subject: Four Noble Truths
Four Noble Truths (Buddhism)

Tweter Tweet
Tell a Friend:

/ Contact / Whatsapp / Contact by Skype / Contact by Phone / / Print this page /

Return to the previous page Back

Description of the Subject: Principles of the Buddhist Ethics.

After his enlightenment, the Buddha went to Benares (Varanasi), the holy city of India, and in the so-called Deer Park on the outskirts of the city, gave his first sermon: The Four Noble Truths, which are the pillar of Buddhism and the Buddhist Civilisation.

The Four Noble Truths are:

  1. Life is suffering (“Dukkha”)
  2. The Cause of pain is the desire (“tanha”)
  3. If we overcome the selfish desire; we will eliminate suffering
  4. Noble Eightfold Path

In the West; it tends to misinterpret this first noble truth of Buddhism; it is understood as exclusively physical pain. However, suffering should be understood as something broader, as “the pain, which to some degree, encouraged all the finite existence” (Huston Smith).

Suffering may be a pain, sadness, imperfection, affliction, and superficiality. According to the English philosopher Alan Watts converted to Buddhism:

“Duhkha is the great disease of the World whose cure is obtained with the doctrine (dharma) of the Buddha.”

This is O monks, the noble truth of the origin of suffering.

Ignorance, desire - attachment and the five poisons are those who produce new rebirths, those inclined to seek pleasure and satisfaction here and there, discouraging not to get what we wanted. It is the desire for the existence, the desire for non-existence” Buddha.

The more we stick to things, more problems may arise for us; it is a similar concept in Hinduism or Taoism.

Ignorance, hatred, longing, attachment are also causes of the pain.

The Fourth Truth, the Noble Eightfold Path, shows us the way to overcome the desire, eliminate suffering and finally reaching Nirvana.

Buddha offers us guidelines to develop a proper conduct, called the five precepts that make up the pillars of the Buddhist Ethics.

  1. Do not kill “I take the precept to respect life.” Derived from the principle of the Non-Violence (Ahimsa). Many Buddhists are vegetarians to respect Ahimsa
  2. Do not steal. “I take the precept of not taking what is not given to me.” Do not take what is not given me, implies Do not steal, not to disappoint, not cheat, not to do embezzlement
  3. Do not lie (Do not make false speech) “I take the precept of not speaking in a harmful manner.”
  4. Do not indulge in sexual misconduct. “Refrain from inappropriate or harmful sexual behaviour.”
  5. Do not take intoxicants

e-Doctorate: Ahimsa Business (Non-Violence)

Principles of the Buddhist Ethics
Buddhist Ethics (Course, Master, Doctorate)

The previous five precepts are the basis of the Buddhist ethics for the laypeople, and furthermore, these principles are shared by all the higher religions.

Buddhist version of the golden rule.

In the Udana V (“The venerable Sona), in the Chapter I” What one wants” we find the golden rule applied to Buddhism:

“This is the sum of duty: do not do to others what would cause pain if done to you”

Two awards Nobel peace, the Dalai Lama and Aung San Suu Kyi, both Buddhists, are today considered world leaders in favour for peace.

e-Doctorate: Ahimsa Buddhism

Religion and business

(c) EENI Global Business School
Due to the COVID Pandemic, EENI has implemented teleworking. Please only contact by email, WhatsApp or through the information request form
We do not use cookies
Back to top of this page