Africa-European Union Strategic Partnership

EENI- School of International Business

Sub-subject: The Cotonou Agreement. The Africa-European Union Strategic Partnership. Syllabus:

  1. Introduction to the Africa-European Union Strategic Partnership
  2. The European Union-Africa Infrastructure Trust Fund
  3. The Cotonou Agreement
  4. The Africa, Caribbean, and the Pacific Group (ACP)
  5. The Euro-Mediterranean Partnership
  6. The European Union Neighbourhood Policy
  7. The European Union bilateral relations with Africa
  8. The International Trade Development and Cooperation Agreement with South Africa
  9. The European Union-Algeria Association Agreement
  10. Trade Agreements with Egypt, Morocco, and Tunisia
The sub-subject “The Africa-European Union Strategic Partnership” is studied...
  1. Doctorates (e-learning): Islamic Countries, Europe, Africa
  2. Masters: Europe, International Business, Africa
  3. Course: Africa's International Relations, EU's International Relations

Languages of study English or French Accord Cotonou Portuguese Cotonou Spanish Cotonou

Sample of the Sub-subject: The Africa-European Union Strategic Partnership
Africa-European Union Strategic Partnership

We Trust in Africa

Description of the Sub-Subject: The Cotonou Agreement (Africa-European Union)

The European Union-Africa Summit, cemented the new Africa-European Union Strategic partnership, marking a qualitative leap in international relations between Africa and the European Union

  1. The Joint Africa-European Union Strategy provides a general long-term framework for the international relations between Africa and the European Union
  2. By the Lisbon Declaration, Africa and the European Union define the framework for the Africa-European Union Strategic Partnership, intended to guide the dialogue and the cooperation between the European Union and Africa
  3. One of the main objectives of the relations of the European Union with Africa is to promote the achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals in Africa
  4. This objective is strengthened and complemented by the specific objectives pursued within the Cotonou Agreement, trade development and cooperation agreement, the Euro-Mediterranean partnership, and the European Neighbourhood Policy, including the assistance to political reform and economic modernisation
  5. Strong trade links connect Europe with Africa, making the European Union the largest export market for the African products
  6. Near 85% of exports of cotton, fruit, and vegetables are imported from the European Union (EU)
  7. For most of the Africa, Caribbean, and the Pacific countries - and virtually all the ACP countries - the European Union is the largest trade partner

The Africa, Caribbean, and the Pacific (ACP) group involves seventy-nine member economies, all of them, except Cuba, signatories to the Cotonou Agreement which bind them to the European Union: forty-eight countries from the Sub-Saharan Africa, sixteen from the Caribbean and fifteen from the Pacific.

List of Africa, Caribbean, and the Pacific (ACP) countries (Africa):
Angola - Cape Verde - the Comoros - Benin - Botswana - Burkina Faso - Burundi - Cameroon - the Central African Republic - Chad - Congo (Brazzaville) - Democratic Republic of the Congo - Ivory Coast - Djibouti - Eritrea - Ethiopia - Gabon - the Gambia - Ghana - Republic of Guinea - Guinea-Bissau - Equatorial Guinea - Kenya - Lesotho - Liberia - Madagascar - Malawi - Mali - Mauritania - Mauritius - Mozambique - Namibia - Niger - Nigeria - Rwanda - Sao Tome and Principe - Senegal - Seychelles - Sierra Leone - Somalia - South Africa - Sudan - Swaziland - Tanzania - Togo - Uganda - Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The Africa-European Union Strategic Partnership belongs to the African Civilisation and the European Economic Area of the Western civilisation.

U-EENI University Catalonia is Spain