African Union (AU)

EENI- School of International Business

Subject (Course): The African Union (AU). Economic and social development in Africa. Syllabus:

  1. Introduction to the African Union (AU).
  2. Objectives and members. Organs of the AU
  3. H.E. Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
  4. Pan-African Parliament
  5. African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights
  6. Specialised Technical Committees
  7. Financial Institutions
    - African Central Bank
    - African Monetary Fund
    - African Investment Bank
  8. African Union Commission on International Law
  9. Commission of the African Union
  10. Department of Trade and Industry
    - Division of Trade
        - Boosting Intra-African Trade Action Plan
        - Continental Free-Trade Area (CFTA)
        - African Common Market
    - Division of Industry
    - Division of Customs
  11. Department of Rural Economy and agriculture
  12. Department of Economic Affairs
    - Economic Integration and Regional Cooperation Division
    - Status of Integration in Africa
    - Minimum Integration Programme
    - Economic Policies and Research Division
    - Private Sector Development, Investment, and Resource Mobilisation Division
  13. AU Special Programs
    - Conference on Security, Stability Development and Cooperation in Africa
      - New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD)
  14. Regional Economic Communities:
    - Community of Sahel-Saharan States
    - Economic Community of Central African States
    - Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa
    - Economic Community of West African States
    - Intergovernmental Authority on Development
    - Southern Africa development community
    - Arab Maghreb Union.
  15. African Union Convention on Preventing and Combating Corruption
  16. Partnerships of the African Union (the EU, China, Japan, the United States, Korea)
  17. Constitutive Act of the African Union

The goals of the subject “The African Union (AU)” are the following:

  1. To understand the objectives, functions, and affiliated institutions of the African Union (AU): the largest institution in Africa
  2. To know the financial bodies of the AU (African Monetary Fund...)
  3. To analyse the role of the Department of Trade and Industry and the Department of Customs
  4. To understand the role of the African Union in the Socio-economic development and the process of African Integration (towards the Continental Free-Trade Area)
  5. To understand the concept of the “African Common Market”
  6. To assess the status of integration in Africa and to know the Minimum Integration Programme
  7. To understanding the relationship between the African Union and the regional economic communities (REC)
  8. To know the African Union Convention on Preventing and Combating Corruption
Subject “The African Union” is studied...
  1. Doctorate in Business in Africa
  2. Masters (e-learning): International Business, Africa
  3. Course: African Institutions

Languages of study: English or French Union Africaine Portuguese União Africana Spanish Unión Africana

  1. Credits of the subject “African Union”: 1 ECTS Credits
  2. Duration: one week

Sample of the subject - African Union (AU):
Africa Agenda 2063

H.E. Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma

We Trust in Africa

Subject Description: African Union (AU).

The African Union (AU) is the main organisation in Africa and the principal institution for the promotion of socio-economic development and regional integration in the African continent, which will lead to greater solidarity and unity between the African countries and the African people.

The main objectives of the African Union (AU) are to..:

  1. Remove Africa of the holdovers of colonisation and apartheid
  2. Promote unity and solidarity among the States in Africa
  3. Coordinate and enhance cooperation for development
  4. Protect the sovereignty and territorial integrity of member economies
  5. Foster international cooperation within the framework of the United Nations.

The vision of the African Union.

  1. African Union is based on the shared vision of a united and strong Africa and the need to build a partnership between African governments and all segments of African civil society (mainly women, youth, and the private sector), to intensify solidarity and cohesion between people of Africa.
  2. As an African organisation; it focuses on the promotion of peace, security, and stability

The New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD) is a programme of the African Union created by Africans, for Africans and implemented by Africans.

African Union members:
Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, the Central African Republic, Chad, the Comoros, Congo, Ivory Coast, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, the Arab Republic of Egypt, the State of Eritrea, Ethiopia, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, the Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

(*) The Central African Republic was suspended in 2013 (Coup d'Etat)
Morocco retired in 1984 due to the conflict of the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic.

The African Union belongs to the African Civilisation.

Regional Economic Communities (REC) in Africa:

  1. Community of Sahel-Saharan States.
  2. Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS)
  3. Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)
  4. Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)
  5. Intergovernmental Authority for Development
  6. Southern African Development Community (SADC)

Partnerships of the African Union with...

  1. Afro-Arab cooperation - Arab Bank for Economic Development in Africa (BADEA)
  2. The European Union
    - Generalised System of Preferences
    - Cotonou Agreement
    - Euro-Mediterranean Partnership
    - European Neighbourhood Policy
  3. Africa-South America Summit (ASA)
  4. Africa-Asia Strategic Partnership (NAASP)
  5. India
  6. China-Africa Cooperation Forum (FOCAC)
  7. Turkey
  8. The United States: African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA)
  9. Japan (TICAD) Process
  10. France
  11. Africa-Korea Partnership

Continental Free-Trade Area (CFTA)
African Free-Trade Area

Related topics:

  1. Economic governance in Africa
  2. Economic Transformation of Africa
  3. African Value Chains
  4. Programme for Infrastructure Development in Africa (PIDA)
  5. Cheryl Carolus is one of the inaugural members of the African Union Foundation

Samples - The African Union

African Union Convention on Preventing and Combating Corruption

Department of Trade (African Union)

African Monetary Fund

Programme for Infrastructure Development in Africa (PIDA)

Cheryl Carolus (South African Businesswoman)

Afro-Arab Cooperation

U-EENI University