Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

EENI Business School & HA University


Syllabus of the Subject: Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN).

  1. Introduction to the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)
  2. Objectives and principles of the ASEAN
  3. ASEAN member countries: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam
  4. ASEAN Economic Community
  5. Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) in the ASEAN Countries
  6. ASEAN Free-Trade Area (AFTA)
  7. ASEAN plus Three Cooperation

ASEAN Free Trade Agreements (FTA)

  1. Indonesia-Malaysia-Thailand Growth Triangle (IMT-GT)
  2. Mekong Economic Cooperation Strategy (ACMECS)
  3. Brunei Darussalam Indonesia Malaysia Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA)
  4. People's Republic of China-ASEAN
  5. ASEAN-Canada Economic Cooperation Agreement
  6. ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free-Trade Area
  7. ASEAN-India Trade in Goods Agreement
  8. ASEAN-European Union Trade Initiatives.
    1. ASEAN-EU free trade agreement (negotiation)
    2. EU's Partnership and Cooperation Agreements with the ASEAN Members
  9. ASEAN-South Korea Free-Trade Area
  10. ASEAN-Russia Business Forum
  11. United States-ASEAN Trade and Investment Framework Agreement
  12. ASEAN-Pakistan Free-Trade Area
  13. ASEAN-Japan Economic Partnership
  14. Mekong River Commission
  15. Greater Mekong Subregion (GMS)

The aims of the subject “Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)” are the following:

  1. To understand the aims and functions of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)
  2. To assess the benefits for the ASEAN member countries as well as the areas of cooperation
  3. To understand the concept of “ASEAN Economic Community” (a single market and unified production base) and implications for the ASEAN countries
  4. To understand the benefits of the free-trade area of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations
  5. To analyse the process of economic and trade integration among the ASEAN member countries
  6. To know the Indonesia-Malaysia-Thailand Growth Triangle (IMT-GT) and the Mekong Economic Cooperation Strategy
  7. To analyse the international relations of the ASEAN (Free Trade Agreements)
The Subject (e-learning) “Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)” is part of the following Higher Education Programs taught by EENI (Business School) and the Hispano-African University of International Business:
  1. Doctorate in Business in Asia
  2. Masters (e-learning): International Business, Asia, Emerging Markets, Pacific, Economic Relations
  3. Bachelor's Degree in International Trade (e-learning)
  4. Diploma: ASEAN Markets

Students, e-learning, EENI (Business School) and HA University

Languages of study Higher Education in English or Tertiary Education in Spanish Asociación de Naciones del Sudeste Asiático (ASEAN) Post-secondary Education in French Association des nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est (ASEAN / ANASE) Study in Portuguese ASEAN

  1. Credits of the subject “Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)”: 3 ECTS Credits
  2. Duration: three weeks

Master and Doctorate in International Business for the ASEAN Students.

  1. Brunei Darussalam
  2. Cambodia
  3. Indonesia
  4. Laos
  5. Malaysia
  6. Myanmar Burma
  7. Philippines
  8. Singapore
  9. Thailand
  10. Vietnam

Sample of the subject - Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)
Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

Description of the Subject (Online Learning): Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was created in 1967 in Bangkok by the five original ASEAN member economies: Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam joined in 1984, Vietnam in 1995, Laos and Myanmar in 1997, and Cambodia in 1999.

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) region has a population of 625 million people, a total area of 4.5 million square kilometres, a combined gross domestic product of 1,100 billion dollars and a total trade of 1,400 billion dollars.

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) economic cooperation covers:

  1. Foreign Trade
  2. Foreign Direct Investment (FDI)
  3. Industry sector
  4. Trade in Services
  5. International finance
  6. Agriculture and forestry
  7. Energy
  8. International transport
  9. Communication
  10. Intellectual Property Rights (IPR)
  11. Small and medium enterprises (SME)
  12. Tourism

The ASEAN plus Three Cooperation began in 1997 with the meeting of an unofficial Summit among the Leaders of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) and their counterparts from East Asia: China, Japan, and the Republic of Korea.

ASEAN Religions: Buddhism, Islam, Christianity, and Hinduism

  1. Total Muslim people in the ASEAN: 241,224 million
  2. Total Buddhist people in the ASEAN: 103,873 million

Other institutions related to the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN):

  1. Colombo Plan
  2. Forum for East Asia-Latin America Cooperation (FEALAC)

Samples - The ASEAN

ASEAN Economic Community

ASEAN Free-Trade Area

Mekong Economic Cooperation Strategy (ACMECS)

Mekong River Commission

ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

ASEAN-European Union Free Trade Agreement

(c) EENI- Business School & Hispano-African University of International Business