African Development Bank (AfDB, Course, Master)

EENI Business School & HA University

Syllabus of the Online Subject: African Development Bank Group. Nigeria Trust Fund.

  1. Introduction to African Development Bank (AfDB)
  2. African Development Report
  3. Structure of the African Development Bank
  4. African Development Fund
  5. Nigeria Trust Fund
  6. African Development Bank's Strategy for 2013-2022
    1. Infrastructure development (PIDA)
    2. Regional economic integration
    3. Intra-African trade
    4. Private sector development
    5. Governance and accountability
    6. Skills and Technology
  7. Funds of the African Development Bank:
    1. Africa Trade Fund
    2. Africa 50 Infrastructure Fund
    3. African Financial Markets Initiative (AFMI)
    4. African Financing Partnership
    5. African Guarantee Fund for Small and Medium-sized Enterprises
  8. Financial instruments of the African Development Bank
  9. African Peer Review Mechanism (NEPAD)
  10. African Women in Business Initiative
  11. Agriculture and agro-industries
  12. Agriculture Fast Track (AFT) Fund
  13. Case Study: Impact of the global crisis on Africa

Projects and Operations of the African Development Bank

  1. Introduction to projects and operations of the African Development Bank
  2. Doing Business with the African Development Bank.
    - Project Cycle
    - Project identification
    - Project preparation
    - Project appraisal
    - Loan negotiation
    - Board approval
    - Loan signing
    - Loan effectiveness
    - Implementation
    - Post evaluation
    - Procurement

The purposes of the Online Subject “The African Development Bank” are the following:

  1. To understand the objectives, structure, and functions of the African Development Bank
  2. To identify the areas of cooperation of the African Development Bank
  3. To analyse the African Development Bank strategy
  4. To evaluate the funds (African Development Fund, Nigeria Trust Fund, Goodwill of Africa) and financial instruments of the African Development Bank
  5. To understand the projects and operations of the African Development Bank

The eLearning Subject “African Development Bank” is part of the following Online Higher Education Programs taught by EENI Business School & HA University:
  1. Doctorates: Business in Africa, Global Trade
  2. Course: African Institutions
  3. Masters: International Business, Foreign Trade, Sub-Saharan Africa, Economic Relations

African Student, Online Master International Business

Learning materials in Master in International Business in English or Study, Master in International Business in French Banque Africaine Developpement Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese Banco Africano Desenvolvimento Study Master Doctorate Business in Spanish Banco Africano Desarrollo

  1. Credits of the Online Subject “African Development Bank”: 1.3 ECTS Credits
  2. Duration: one week

Related topics:

  1. African Economic Transformation
  2. African Continental Free-Trade Area

African Portal - EENI Business School & HA University

Africa: Foreign Trade and Business (Master)

Example of the Online Subject - African Development Bank Group:
Master/ Course: African Development Bank

Tweter Tweet
Tell a Friend:

/ Contact / Whatsapp / Contact by Skype / Contact by Phone / / Print this page /

Paterson Ngatchou: EENI Academic Coordinator for Anglophone Countries
Return to the previous page Back

Description of the Online Subject: African Development Bank.

The African Development Bank is a multilateral development bank whose shareholders include fifty-three African countries (regional member countries) and twenty-four non-African Countries (America, Asia, and Europe).

The African Development Fund is managed by the African Development Bank and includes the Member States (donor countries) and recipient economies.

The main objective of the African Development Fund is to reduce poverty in Africa by providing loans and grants.

The Nigeria Trust Fund is a special African Development Bank fund created in 1976 by agreement between the Bank Group and the Government of Nigeria.

The objective of the Nigeria Trust Fund is to assist the development efforts of low-income regional African Countries whose economic and social circumstances and forecasts require concessional financing.

In 2014, the African Development Bank returned to Abidjan.

The African Development Bank belongs to African Civilisation.

African Regional Economic Communities (REC).

  1. Community of Sahel-Saharan States (CEN-SAD)
  2. Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)
  3. East African Community (EAC)
  4. Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS)
  5. Central African Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC)
  6. Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)
  7. West African Economic and Monetary Union (WAEMU)
  8. West African Monetary Zone (WAMZ)
  9. Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD)
  10. Southern African Development Community (SADC)
  11. Southern African Customs Union (SACU)
  12. Arab Maghreb Union (AMU)

Regional Integration in Africa.

Most of the Member Countries of the African Development Bank are small, undiversified and face physical, political, and policy-induced constraints to deeper economic integration with their neighbour's countries and the global economy.

However, the economic cooperation and regional integration are fundamental if Africa surpasses trade barriers and take its rightful place in the global market.

In the last forty years, the African Development Bank has promoted Regional Economic Communities (REC) through regional economic cooperation, international trade growth, capacity building and renewed assistance for the New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD) programs.

The African Development Bank also collaborates with national governments and pan-African organisations; it is of particular importance with the African Union (AU) and the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) to rationalise and streamline the Regional Economic Communities structures.

Samples - African Development Bank

Master Course: African Development Bank Strategy 2013–2022

Master Course: African Development Fund

Project Cycle (the African Development Bank)

Africa Trade Fund

Programme for Infrastructure Development in Africa (PIDA)

African Development Bank - regional member countries.

Burkina Faso
Cape Verde
Central African Republic
Ivory Coast
Democratic Republic of the Congo
Equatorial Guinea
São Tomé and Príncipe
Sierra Leone
South Africa

African population African Value Chains

(c) EENI Business School & HA University (We do not use cookies)